Aosta (AO) (Valle d'Aosta)

"Aosta (AO) (Valle d'Aosta)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Valle d'Aosta (Aosta) region of Northern Regions.

Valle d'Aosta is the smallest Italian region, situated on the Italian border with France and Switzerland.

The territory is mostly mountainous with the highest peaks in Europe (Monte Bianco, Cervino, Monte Rosa, Gran Paradiso) with beautiful green valleys on the sides of the long Dora Baltea river, a tributary of the largest river in the Italy, the Po. The region has a surface area of 3,263 square km, with a total population of about 120,000 inhabitants, concentrated in the valley bottoms.

74 communes.

Valle d'Aosta

As you visit 'Aosta (AO) (Valle d'Aosta)' you may also like following articles . . .

Valle d'Aosta (Aosta) - Northern Regions

The name Valle d'Aosta speaks for itself: Valle means valley, i.e. the form of the territory occupied by the region; Aosta is a city founded by Romans in 25 b.

Geography - Map, Altimetrical zones of Region, Mountain, Hill, Plain Land, Islands, Lakes, Rivers, Climate..

Italy is a mountainous country, with the Alps as the northern boundary and the Apennine Mountains forming the backbone of the peninsula, but in between the two

Teatro Valle (Valley Theater) - Former Opera House

Together with Teatro Argentina it is one of two 18th century theatres survived till our days and keeping on to perform with success. It was built by marquis

Northern Regions - Provinces and Main Towns, Population Density, Agriculture & Industry

Northern Regions of Italy - Provinces and Main Towns Regions, provinces and main towns . inhabitants of main town inhabitants density Valle d'

Piazza di Sant'Andrea della Valle & Its Fountain

The Sant'Andrea della Valle square was built in 1938 during the works over Corso del Rinascimento. The site of the old Piazza di S.Andrea remained under the