Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

"Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 1st July 2011

The Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in the 4th century, was decorated with mosaics in the 5th century and restored by Theodoric and by popes of the 8th century. During the Byzantine domination in Rome, it served as an official church of the representatives of the Eastern Roman Empire, who's residence was on the Palatine Hill. Further modifications in the construction's look were brought during the works of the 13th and restoration of the 15th century, by the order of Sixtus IV, who had a bell-tower built.

Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill) layout of Church of Santa Anastasia
After the collapse of the facade and portico in front of it in 1636, Urban VIII ordered creation of the new facade to Luigi Arrigucci. The present aspect of the church is totally of the 18th century (except the facade), as it was rearranged in 1722 by Carlo Gimacchi da Malta for the order of Portugese cardinal Da Cunha.

Interior has three naves and a transept with and apse and High Altar. The tribune of the apse is richly decorated with precious marbles. The painting decorations are by L.Baldi. The aisles are shorter than the nave and have two chapels each.
bell tower of Church of Santa Anastasia.
Under the lower part of the church, ruins of an ancient imperial insula can be found. The facade presents two parts and two twin belltowers. The interior has three naves, and on the ceiling is depicted the “Martirio di Sant’Anastasia” by Michele Cerreti. The statue of the saint, whom the church is dedicated to, is situated under the altar.

Excavations beneath the church revealed that it was built over the constructions annexed to the Circus Maximus.

Address:
Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill)
Piazza di Sant'Anastasia
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano - Campidoglio - P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill) is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "39"
Hours: Open 24 hours a day. Mass times: Weekdays: 18.00. Holidays: 10.30 (English) - 16.00 (Arabic) - 18.00 (Italian).
Telephone: 0039 06 6782980.

As you visit 'Basilica/ Church of Santa Anastasia al Palatino (Palatine Hill)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

The Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in 1625 by initiative of cardinal Francesco Barberini and Blessed Bonaventura da Barcellona

Church of San Sebastiano (Saint Sebastian) on the Palatine Hill

The Chiesa di San Sebastiano al Palatino (Church of San Sebastiano on the Palatine Hill) was founded in the 10th century and was also called in the past S.

Farnese Gardens on the Palatine Hill (Orti Farnesiani sul Monte Palatino)

In the 16th century on the initiative of the Cardinal Alessandro Farnese a grand villa (Orti Farnesiani) was built on the Domus Tiberiana. The villa was almost

Church of Santa Maria Liberatrice In Testaccio Hill

Santa Maria Liberatrice a Monte Testaccio (Church of Santa Maria Liberatrice In Testaccio Hill) stands just west of Porta San Paolo and the Pyramid of Gaius

Paedagogium or Boarding School on the Palatine Hill

The Alexamenos graffito (also known as the graffito blasfemo is an inscription carved in plaster on a wall near the Palatine Hill in Rome, now in the Palatine