Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese), Rome

"Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th January 2012

Raphael's Deposition at Borghese Gallery, Rome

The palace of Villa Borghese houses worldly famous art gallery. It was projected by F.Ponzio and continued after his death by G.Vasanzio, who decorated the facade with stuccoes that bordered ancient sculptures, moved in Louvre under Napoleon. In the end of the 18th century internal decoration of the palace was notable changed under direction of A.Asprucci. The building was conceived as a seat of the family art collection of the Borghese.

Galleria Borghese
Fig: Galleria Borghese

When all of it moved to Louvre by the order of Camillo Borghese, a husband of Pauline Bonaparte, they decided to reconstruct the collection with the ancient marbles found in the excavations on the territories of the Borghese family. Nevertheless, the basic part of present Gallery is a collection of paintings conserved in Palazzo Borghese in Rome and moved here in 1891.

The exposition is arranged on two floors.

Ground floor

(most of the ceilings were decorated by Giovanni Battista Marchetti with numerous assistants in 1750-1760): fragments of Roman mosaics on the floor in different rooms; statues, busts and heads of Roman emperors; a statue of Pauline Bonaparte as Venus Victrix, by A.Canova (1805-1808); Cupid on an Eagle, attributed to P.Bernini (1618); Portrait of pope Clement XII, by P.Bracci; G.L.Bernini's masterpieces: David (1623), who's face is Bernini's self-portrait, Apollo and Daphne (1624), Rape of Proserphine, Aeneas and Anchises (1613), Truth (1645); sarcophagus; paintings by A.Caracci, R.Manetti, J.Zucchi, G.M.Morandi, Cavalier d'Arpino, Cigoli and G.Baglione; marble vases; Hermaphrodite, a replica of a famous Hellenistic original; Satyr on a Dolphin (1st century A.D.) a copy of an original; Dancing Satyr (2nd century A.D.) copy of an original by Lysippus; masterpieces by Caravaggio: Boy with a basket of fruit (1595), Bacchino (1592-1595), Madonna of the Palafrenieri (1605), St Jerome (1605), St John the Baptist (1609), David with the head of Goliath (1610).

First floor:

paintings by Raphael: Deposition (1507), Portrait of a Lady with a Unicorn (1506), Portrait of a Man (1502-1504) and a copy of his La Fornarina and of Portrait of Pope Julius II; paintings by P.del Vaga, Perugino, Botticelli, G.Romano, Sodoma, B.Peruzzi, L.Lotto, F.Francia, G.Reni, G.L.Bernini (self-portraits), Guercino, P.Tibaldi, Vasari, J.Zucchi, Sassoferrato, Rubens (The Deposition, 1602), Domenichino, Titian (Sacred and Profane Love) (1514), Venus Blinding Cupid (1565), St Dominic (1565), Scourging of Christ (1560); sculptures by G.L.Bernini: Goat Almathea (1615), Bust of Pope Paul V (1618), two Portraits of cardinal Scipione Borghese (1632), Model for the Equestrian Statue of Louis XIV (1670).

The original sculptures and paintings in the Borghese Gallery date back to Cardinal Scipione's collection, the son of Ortensia Borghese - Paolo V's sister - and of Francesco Caffarelli, though subsequent events over the next three centuries entailing both losses and acquisition have left their mark.

Cardinal Scipion was drawn to any works of ancient, Renaissance and contemporary art which might re-evoke a new golden age. He was not particularly interested in medieval art, but passionately sought to acquire antique sculpture. But Cardinal Scipione was so ambitious that he promoted the creation of new sculptures and especially marble groups to rival antique works.

Museum shop
Situated on the ground floor, next to the cafeteria, carries several guide books, art books, catalogs, postcards, posters and items inspired by and dedicated to the masterpieces of the Gallery. Shop hours are the same as those of the ticket office.

Address:
Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese)
Piazzale del Museo Borghese, 5
00197, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Quartiere Pinciano (Roma centro)
Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "3"
Subway: Piazza di Spagna stop (follow the signs Villa Borghese - Via Veneto), Metro A
Bus n°: 5, 19, 52, 53, 63, 86, 88, 92, 95, 116, 204, 217, 231, 360,490, 491, 495, 630, 910, 926
Tram: 19, 19b, 30, 30b.
Taxi: ask for Galleria Borghese, entrance from Via Pinciana, Via dell’Uccelliera
Contact - Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese)
Information and tickets booking: +39 06 32810 (Tel)
Groups booking: +39 06 32651329 (fax)
Guided tours: +39 06 8555952 (fax)
Gallery hours: Opening time: Tuesday to Sunday, from 8.30 a.m. to 7.30 p.m., Closed: Monday, December 25th, January 1st and Ticket office close at 6.30 p.m.
Museum shop Tel.: +39 06 8557377
On-line booking and reservations: http://www.ticketeria.it/quick_reserve-eng.html
Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese) Official Website: http://www.galleriaborghese.it/borghese/en/edefault.htm

As you visit 'Borghese Gallery and Museum (Museo e Galleria Borghese), Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Galoppatoio di Villa Borghese, Rome

This zone is a part of villa adjoined in 1830. In 1911 here a riding-track was arranged, which was also used for different manifestations and expositions. In

Palazzo Borghese, Rome

The palace was built by Vignola in 1560 for the Spanish cardinal Dezza. In 1596 it passed to C.Borghese, and after he became pope Paul V, the palace was given

Villa Borghese, Rome

This villa occupies the territory of 78 hectares and its circumference is 6km. It was created by cardinal Scipione Borghese, nephew of pope Paul V. The

Galleria Nazionale D'Arte Moderna & Museo (National Gallery of Modern and Contemporary Art and Museum), Rome

The palace of the gallery was built in 1911 by Cesare Bazzani, and enlarged in 1933. It contains the most important in Italy collection of 19th-20th century

Casina Valadier Restaurant on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio at Villa Borghese In Rome

Casina Valadier rises up on the ancient Collis Hortulorum, the highest point of Pincio, where in the past great Roman families owned the most sumptuous and