Bregno, Andrea (1418/21-1503/06)

"Bregno, Andrea (1418/21-1503/06)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 27th April 2011

Andrea Bregno, Italian sculptor and architect, was born in Osteno, Como in 1418/1421 and died in Rome in 1503/1506. He was very active in Rome, where together with L.Capponi and Giovanni Dalmata, represented the currents of the north-Italian sculpture. In the altar for Rodrigo Borgia (1473) (Alexander VI) and in the burial monument to the cardinal Cristoforo della Rovere (Santa Maria del Popolo), in the monuments of the cardinal Coca (Santa Maria sopra Minerva), of Pietro Riario (Santi Apostoli), and in the works executed for Vatican encharged to him by Sixtus IV (balustrade and choir of the Sistine Chapel), could be seen the expressions of mixed classic Tuscanian and Lombardian modes, as Bregno was working with Mino da Fiesole.

In 1481-1485 the artist was called in Siena for the works of Duomo, where he created altar of Piccolomini, for which served as an example the altar of Borgia in Rome.

As you visit 'Bregno, Andrea (1418/21-1503/06)' you may also like following articles . . .

Santa Maria sopra Minerva (Basilica of Saint Mary Above Minerva), Rome

The Basilica of Saint Mary Above Minerva (Latin: Basilica Sanctae Mariae supra Minervam, Italian: Basilica di Santa Maria sopra Minerva) is a titular minor

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria del Popolo, Rome

The church grew out of a chapel built here by Pascal II in 1099 over the tombs of the Domitia family, which were believed to be the haunt of demons, because

Fiesole, Mino da (1429-1484)

Mino da Fiesole, Italian sculptor, was born in Poggi in 1429 and died in Florence in 1484. He was a pupil of Antonio Rossellino and Desiderio da Settignano. In

Dalmata Giovanni (c1440-after 1509) (Giovanni Duknovich)

Giovanni Duknovich, named Giovanni Dalmata, Dalmatian sculptor, was born in Trau' in circa 1440 and died in Ancona after 1509. Perhaps he was a pupil of

Church/ Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli (Basilica dei Santi Apostoli)

It was built in 560 by Pelagius I to commemorate the defeat and expulsion of the Goths by the Byzantine army, and dedicated to the Apostles James and Philip.