Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island

"Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island

The tower (torre) stands on the left of Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio and behind the Basilica di San Bartolomeo all'Isola. It belonged first to the Pierleoni family who built it in the 10th century and later was bought by the Caetani family who lived in the houses close to the tower till 1470 and included in this architectonic complex construction the church of S.Bartolomeo. In 1087 and 1089 it was a residence of two popes Victor III and Urban II while the anti-popes were governing in Vatican. Catani left the tower because it was not possible to live in it any more due to the floods of Tiber. So the gifted it to the Franciscan monks who restored it and made of it a monastery.

Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) - adjacent Pierleone-Gaetani Castle, on the left of Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio and behind the Basilica di San Bartolomeo all'Isola
Caetani Tower was the strong point of the adjacent Pierleone-Gaetani Castle. What we can see now is very different from an original look of Torre due to the local wars between Roman noble families when every part of the city was a fortified zone of a single party. Thus the territory of Isola Tiberina (Tiber island) was very favourable place to possess because of the difficulty to reach it by enemies. On the Isola Tiberina today it is still possible to admire what remains of the Castle of the Caetani, built against the Torre dei Pierleoni dating from the 10th century. The tower, which today is still at the head of the Ponte Fabricio, is also known as the Torre della Pulzella (Tower of the Maid), referring to the small marble head of a young woman set into the brick facing. Also see: Medieval Rome with its Monuments

In 1870 the tower became a property of the State and was adapted as a hospice for Jews serving in this mode till 1970. Abandoned and partly restored in 1986 it was destined to be a museum.

Address:
Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island
Ponte Fabricio, Lungotevere dei Pierleoni
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "12"
Bus: H - 23 - 63 - 280 - 630 - 780
Tram: service 8
Metro Subway: service B, stop Circo Massimo

As you visit 'Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island' you may also like following articles . . .

Tower of Little Mill/ Monkey Tower (Torre dei Frangipane/ Scimmia/ Moletta)

This tower was also named Torre della Moletta (Tower of little Mill) because of a water mill existed here in the Middle Ages, which used the Acqua Mariana,

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have

Isola Tiberina (Tiber island)

The size of this little island rises in the middle of the river Tiber is 300mx80m, along the creek that divides Trastevere from the area of the Piazza Navona.

Palazzo Pignatelli & Torre Colonna Tower

Palazzo Pignatelli was built in the 17th century for the family of pope Innocent XII Pignatelli and transformed in 1880 due to construction of Via Nazionale.

Torre (Tower) delle Milizie in Via Quattro Novembre

The origins of this tower are not known, as well as the origins of its name, but it could be supposed that it had something to do with some military functions