Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)

"Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

What is now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo) are the rests of ex-tower erected by a powerful Crescenzi family in the 10th century to control the opposite side of the river. The materials for its construction were taken from other more ancient monuments. The name of Cola di Rienzo was given to it because of its close position to the Regola district, where this personality was born. The Crescenzi family lived here till the 14th century. After it was abandoned it was used as a stable. After restoration it hosted till 1960 an Order of Roman Engineers.

Casa dei Crescenzi at Via Luigi Petroselli, rome
Casa dei Crescenzi was built between 1040 and 1065 by the Crescenzi family to control over the ancient wharves of Rome (now hosting the Registry offices of the city) and the bridge where the powerful family collected the toll. Restored around 1940, it houses the Centro Studi per la Storia e l’Architettura. The long Latin inscription in Leonine verse on the arch of the door, comprising a piece of the moulding of a Roman round shrine, tells about Nicolò, son of Crescenzio and Teodoro who built the palace to “renovate the ancient dignity of Rome”.

Note: The building is closed to the public and is visible from the outside only.

Address:
Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)
Piazza Trilussa
00186 , Ghetto, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "7"

As you visit 'Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)' you may also like following articles . . .

Via Cola di Rienzo, Rome

Dedicated to the tribune of 4th century, the street Via Cola di Rienzo was designed as the principal road of the Prati District and as a connection between

House of Puppets/ Casa dei Pupazzi (Casa Crivelli o Palazzo dei Pupazzi)

This house near Palazzo Sforza Cesarini was built by a goldsmith from Milan Gian Pietro Crivelli for himself and his family, as an inscription says, in 1537-

Piazza in Piscinula and Casa dei Mattei (Mattei House) of Trastevere

Going across the river from the Isola Tiberina you end up in a little place of Trastevere neighborhood called piazza in Piscinula. The name of this square

Casa dei Cavalieri di Rodi (House of the Knights of Rhodes)

Casa dei Cavalieri di Rodi (House of the Knights of Rhodes) is an ancient seat of the Roman priorate of the Order of the Knights of Malta/ Rhodes (ancient name

Anguillara Tower (Torre degli Anguillara) - House of Dante (Casa di Dante)

For a long period of time Trastevere as well as other districts of Rome was a part of the city controlled to one or more noble families, among them was the