Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù")

"Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù")" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 9th May 2011

The Casa Professa of Rome (or Casa del Gesù, or Gesù Residence) is built in 1599-1623 on the place of the first seat of the Jesuit order, by the project of G.Rainaldi and on expense of cardinal Odoardo Farnese; it is located to the right of the Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù"), some streets from the Collegio Romano. The Casa, encasing the rooms where St Ignatius lived and died, in 1544-1556, is connected to the Gesù. This residence served as the " Curia Generalis " or international headquarters of the Society of Jesus, until the Society was suppressed in 1773, and then from the restoration in 1814 until the Risorgimento of 1873. It had rooms for General of the Society, assistants, professors. The building was reduced in 1932 due to enlargement of Via S.Marco.

Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù"), Rome
The Casa Professa had his own library. ARSI (Archivum Romanum Societatis Iesu), the official central archives of the Society of Jesus worldwide, were preserved in the Casa Professa.

After the expropriation of the house by the State in 1870, it was little by little re-acquired by the Jesuits. Inside are the rooms of St Ignatius, where he lived and died in 1544-1556. They are decorated by A.Pozzo (1680), and contain mementoes, paintings and documents. Casa Professa incorporated the small house where St. Ignatius spent his last years. The "Casa Professa" is usually a Jesuit convent sheltering members having made profession of faith and thereby enabled to perform essential missions.

Parts of the original monastic complex now form the city's public library and student dormitories of the University of Palermo. Owing to the dearth of seminarians, the Jesuit monastery is now quite small.

Address:
Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù")
Piazza del Gesù, Via degli Astalli, 16
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù") is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "128"

As you visit 'Casa Professa (Casa Professa Church) - Beside Chiesa del Gesù ("The Gesù")' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa del Gesu (Church of the Gesù)

The full name of this principal Jesuit church in Rome is Chiesa del SS.Nome di Gesu'. The Gesù was conceived in 1551 by Saint Ignatius of Loyola, the founder

House of Puppets/ Casa dei Pupazzi (Casa Crivelli o Palazzo dei Pupazzi)

This house near Palazzo Sforza Cesarini was built by a goldsmith from Milan Gian Pietro Crivelli for himself and his family, as an inscription says, in 1537-

Casa dei Crescenzi - Now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo)

What is now called "casa di Cola di Rienzo" (House of Cola di Rienzo) are the rests of ex-tower erected by a powerful Crescenzi family in the 10th century to

Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria, Rome

In 1615 the Augustinian brothers acquired a piece of land between modern Via di Gesu' e Maria and Via di S.Giacomo, between Via del Corso and Via del Babuino,

House of Livia (Casa di Livia) on the Palatine Hill

It was a simple house in which emperor Augustus lived for 40 years with the modesty that his successors never knew. The Palatine hill was a residence zone