"Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011
Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi) [also popularly called Villa Ludovisi] was one of minor constructions located on the territory of ex Villa Ludovisi. Originally it was named "casino del monte" (house of mountain) because it was located on a little hill. The house was noted starting from the end of the 16th century as a residence of Cecchino Del Nero. Cardinal Ludovico Ludovisi reconstructed and decorated it in the middle of the 17th century with the help of C.Maderno, Tassi, P.Brill and Guercino.
The Casino di Villa Boncompagni Ludovisi is a villa in Porta Pinciana, Rome, Italy. Measuring 2.200 square meters, it is all that remains of a country retreat, best known as Villa Ludovisi, established in the 16th century by Cardinal Francesco Maria Del Monte. The 16th century building has a cross shaped plan because in 1858 to each wing was added an avant-corps. The building is what remains of the villa Ludovisi, built in 1662 by Cardinal Ludovico Ludovisi upon the Horti Sallustiani, to testimony the ancient glories.
The painting of Guercino "Carro dell'Aurora che vince la Notte", in a little gallery on the ground floor of the building, gave the present name to the House. Losing their possessions, the Ludovisi remained the owners of this house till our days, which was enlarged by them in 1863. Inside the building, in the Sala dell’Aurora, you can admire this famous fresco by Guercino that represents Aurora moving forward on a chariot and scattering flowers, as the night disappears with the arrival of the new day. In the Sala del Camino or dei Paesi, are the Landscapes by Guercino.
You will also admire the painting "Jupiter, Neptune and Pluto" by the Italian Baroque master Michelangelo Merisi called Caravaggio. It is unusually painted in oils on plaster (oil painting is normally on canvas or sometimes on wood).
In the small vault of the alchemistic lab is an oil wall painting representing Jupiter, Neptune and Pluto attribute to Caravaggio according to Bellori. The famous collection of ancient statues, that once embellished the villa and was bought by the State in 1901, is now exhibited in Palazzo Altemps, one of the seats of the Museo Nazionale Romano. The facade of the main casino (a separate building) is now hidden behind the Casino Grande of Villa Ludovisi later called Palazzo Margherita. This palazzo was acquired by the Italian State and became the residence of Queen Mother Margherita. It now houses the U.S. embassy.
NOTE: The monument is closed until further notice.
Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi)
Via Lombardia, 46
Entrance is from Via Lombardia 44, right in front of Hotel Sofitel
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ludovisi (Via Veneto) (Roma centro)
Casino Boncompagni Ludovisi (dell'Aurora Ludovisi) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "65"