Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain

"Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 5th July 2011

The Celio (Caelius) Military Hospital near the Coloseum occupies the territory of destroyed in 1888 Villa Casali. Centuries ago on this zone was a military establishment and an important medieval hospital S.Stefano in Formis. The modern hospital is compound of pavilions and was built according to a project of Salvatore Bianchi in 1885-1891.

Celio Military Hospital (Ospedale Militare del Celio)
The Caelian hill, originally known as Mons Querquetulanus (hill of the oak trees, because it was a forest of oak trees) is the southernmost of the seven hills on which Rome was founded; subsequently it was called Mons Caelius.

Celio district owes its name to a legend, which tells of the conquest of the hill by the Etruscan Celio Vibenna. In ancient times the area contained temples, public buildings - like the "macellum", the great market from the age of Nero, and the "castra peregrinorum", the barracks which housed the armies of the province - and prosperous dwellings. In medieval and Renaissance times the district was practically deserted, except for a few ancient churches and villas. It remained so until 1870, with the exception of the San Giovanni area, criss-crossed with busy roads. At the end of the 19th century numerous residential buildings went up and the military hospital was built: Villa Celimontana and the old Cornovaglia vineyard, which became public parks, were saved from the tide of cement.

In 1997, under the Celio Military Hospital has been brought to light a basilica, named Basilica Hilariana sotto l’Ospedale Militare del Celio (Basilica Hilariana under the Celio Military Hospital) - dating back to the Antonine period, been identified as a place of worship of Attis and Cybele, and as the seat of the religious congregation of dendrofori, in charge of the cult itself. The building was erected at the expense of the rich pearl merchant Poblicio Hilari as evidenced by a foundation dedicated to him and an honorary head, probably a portrait of him, found inside the Basilica. The original form was characteristic of the collegial temples, known from numerous examples of Ostia and characterized by a central courtyard, around which the rooms were willing to service the needs of the congregation and a floor, not preserved.

Celimontana Fountain (Fontana Celimontana) or Pio IX Fountain Via Annia (Fontana di Pio IX a Via Annia)

Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain Via Annia
Celimontana Fountain (Fontana Celimontana) or Pio IX Fountain Via Annia (Fontana di Pio IX a Via Annia) was originally placed in a wash-house facing the basilica di San Clemente. It was designed in 1864 by Virgilio Vespignani under pope Pious the Ninth Mastai Ferretti (1846-1878). Around 1927 the Municipality decided to move it to its current location, near the boundary wall of the Military Hospital on the Caelius. A marble sarcophagus of the first century BC receives water from two lion heads above, enclosed within volutes that flank the coat of arms of Pious the Ninth, within a brick niche surmounted by the coat of arms of the Municipality. Above all a small square made of black marble supports a small basin that pours water. The construction of the fountain is commemorated in an epigraph on the pond-sarcophagus.

Address:
Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain
Piazza Celimontana 50 (Via Annia)
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "72"
Bus: 117
Tel: Because the building is located in 'military area, the visit is required a request be made at the Archaeological Superintendence of Rome tel. 06-6790110.

As you visit 'Celio Military Hospital, Basilica Hilariana and Celimontana or Pio IX Fountain' you may also like following articles . . .

Roman Houses and Antiquarium of Celio (Case Romane del Celio)

The Basilica of SS. Giovanni e Paolo stands over a complex comprising several Roman houses of different periods. According to tradition, this was the dwelling

Antiquarium Comunale del Celio (Antiquarian House of Celio)

It was built in 1890 by architect F.Azzurri and arranged by professor Rodolfo Lanciani. The necessity to create an antiquarium was caused by endless quantity

Villa Celimontana (Previously Villa Mattei): Park, Garden, Festival, Geographic Society

Previously it was Villa dei Mattei, dukes of Giove, acquired in 1553 by Giacomo and arranged by Ciriaco Mattei. The latter created gardens and picked a

San Giovanni Addolorata Hospital Complex at Piazza di San Giovanni in Laterano

The Hospital Complex, "S. Giovanni - Addolorata" is on the Celio hill, an area of ancient Roman urban settlements. Under the existing buildings are still

British Military Cemetery (Cimitero Militare Inglese)

This British Military Cemetery (Cimitero Militare Inglese) is a memory about the WWII in Latium. The cemetery contains the tombs of a little group of British