The Cemetery of Verano, Rome

"The Cemetery of Verano, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 24th May 2011

statues at Monumental Cemetery of Verano, rome

Near the Basilica of St. Lawrence Outside the Walls stands out the imposing area of Monumental Cemetery of Verano (Cimitero Monumentale del Verano). It was first founded under the French management according to St. Cloud's edict of 1804, then projected by Giuseppe Veladier and finally, in the half of the 19th century, completed by Virginio Vespignani.

Construction of "Campo Verano" at basilica S.Lorenzo fuori le mura, was began during the Napoleonic domination, continued in 1837 and finished in 1870. The area chosen for the cemetery was adjacent to the Basilica of San Lorenzo fuori le Mura, which was also built on the previous Roman burial ground of Ciriaca.

The municipal cemetery grew on the site of the estate of the emperor Lucius Verus (from who's surname derives the name of the cemetery). It was designed by G.Valadier in 1807-1812. V.Vespignani is an author of the monumental entrance to the cemetery, with the four big statues erected here in 1874-1878 and a quadriporticus. Nevertheless the cemetery was open on July 1, 1836, and all the people died in Rome after this date had to be buried in Campo Verano.
Monumental Cemetery of Verano (Cimitero Monumentale del Verano), Piazzale del Verano, rome
Among the many graves, characterised by sculptures inspired by classical themes, realism and symbolism, are the ones of Ernesto Nathan, mayor of the city from 1907 to 1913; the Romanesque poets Pascarella, Trilussa and Belli; the architects Piacentini, father and son, and Gaetano Koch; and the painters Balla, Roesler-Franz and Maccari. The actors Ettore Petrolini, Checco and Anita Durante, Aldo Fabrizi and Alberto Sordi, as well as film director Roberto Rossellini, are also buried here.

Documentation Center of Monumental Cemetery At Verano (Centro di Documentazione dei Cimiteri Storici al Cimitero Monumentale del Verano):

Located in the entrance room of the Quadriportico, it preserves films on the old technique of funerary painting realized with enamel on lava stone; photographic documents on tombstones and chapels, and video documents on the history of the Verano and its bombing in 1943. Historical and Photographic Archive are preserved here. The centre is closed at the moment.

The Cemetery of Verano, rome - 2a The Cemetery of Verano, rome - 2b The Cemetery of Verano, rome - 2c

Monumental Cemetery of Verano (Cimitero Monumentale del Verano)
Piazzale del Verano 3,
Quartiere San Lorenzo
00185, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Quartiere Tiburtino (Roma est)
Monumental Cemetery At Verano (Cimitero Monumentale del Verano) is Shown By "Map F Zone" As "42"
Bus: 11, 71, 109, 111, 309, 310, 311, 411, 415, 492.
Tram: 19 - 3
Metro: Metro B - Policlinico
Hours: From 1 October to 31 March open every day 7:30am-5pm., From 1 April to 30 September open every day 7:30am-6pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 49236349
Fax: 0039 06 4464694
Contact - Documentation Center of Monumental Cemetery At Verano
Tel: 0039 06 4467407, 0039 06 492323625 - 06 49236254
Fax 0039 06 4464694

As you visit 'The Cemetery of Verano, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Non-Catholic Cemetery in Rome (Protestant Cemetery or Cemetery of the English)

This Protestant Cemetery or Cemetery of the English (Cimitero Acattolico o degli Inglesi) was founded in the 18th century with the eldest tomb of construction

British Military Cemetery (Cimitero Militare Inglese)

This British Military Cemetery (Cimitero Militare Inglese) is a memory about the WWII in Latium. The cemetery contains the tombs of a little group of British

Cimitero Militare Francese (French Military Cemetery) Rome

The Cimitero Militare Francese (French Military Cemetery) is located on the extreme end of the Monte Mario, and contains the graves of 1500 French who died in

Basilica di San Lorenzo fuori le Mura (Saint Lawrence outside the Walls)

This basilica is one of the seven pilgrimage churches of Rome and of the numerous churches dedicated to the deacon Laurence of Spanish origin. In the middle of

Non-Catholic Cemetery, Rome

Near the Pyramid of Caio Cestio, this little and fascinating cemetery used to be the burial place for those foreigners, who were not accepted in the Catholic