"Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th January 2012
In 1615 the Augustinian brothers acquired a piece of land between modern Via di Gesu' e Maria and Via di S.Giacomo, between Via del Corso and Via del Babuino, which before was a villa of cardinal Flavio Orsini. The church was built many years later, in 1670, because all this time they were collecting money for its construction. The architect was C.Rainaldi. The exterior is very simple, unlike interior, which is richly decorated with marbles, paintings and stuccoes. It has one nave depicted by Giacinto Bracci and three chapels on each side. There are four tombs of the Bolognetti family. The presbytery is decorated with marbles, columns, stuccoes and statues. On both sides from the entrance surmounted by organ, are two tombs of the Del Corno family. The convent construction was turned into an elementary school. During the celebration of the Mass groups of many people are not allowed to visit the church.
As you visit 'Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .
Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria
Also Called: Santissimi nomi di Gesù e Maria in Via Lata
Via del Corso, 45
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Chiesa (Church) di Gesu' e Maria is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "12"
Subway: Flaminio (448 m N), Spagna (657 m E), Lepanto (1.0 km NW), Barberini (1.0 km SE), Lepanto (1.0 km NW) - Metro Underground line: A
Bus: Piazza Cittadella - STAZ. Bus H - 40 - 46 - 62 - 63 - 64 - 70 - 81 - 85 - 87 - 95 - 117 - 119 - 160 - 175 - 186 - 492 - 628 - 630 - 810 - 850 - 204
Church Hour: Every day 09.00am-12.30pm 03.30pm-07.30pm, Week days 06.00pm, Holidays 10.30am(Latin), 11.30am, 06.00pm, 07.15pm(Slovak).
Telephone: 0039 06 3613717
Fax: 0039 06 3613717