Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome

"Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 28th April 2011

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome

The church was erected in 1664-1679 by C.Rainaldi to preserve a miraculous image of Madonna, which was found on the wall close to Porta del Popolo and placed in a little oratory close to Tiber in 1325. The church has a central plan and two chapels on each side. The image of Madonna is on the high altar surmounted by four marble angels by A.Raggi. In presbytery are the funeral monument to cardinal Gastaldi, who sponsored construction of the church, and his brother. The facade was later changed by G.L.Bernini and C.Fontana.

SANTA MARIA DEI MIRACOLI is located in Piazza del Popolo, looking at Via del Corso to the right, it is one of the twin sisters along with Santa Maria in Montesanto.

Address:
Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli
Via del Corso, 528, Piazza del Popolo,
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "7"
Subway: Fermata Flaminio (261 m N), Spagna ( 763 m SE) - Metro Underground line: A
Tram 2
Bus 88 - 95 - 117 - 119 - 490 - 495 - 628 - 926 - 204
Telephone: 0039 06 3610250
Open: 06:00am -01:00pm 05:00pm-07:00pm, Sunday: 8.00am-01.00pm 05.00pm-07.00pm

As you visit 'Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa (Church) di S.Maria di Montesanto (Santa Maria in Montesanto), Rome

The church was built in 1662-1679 on the site of the other church, which belonged to Carmelites from Monte Santo in Sicily. It has an elliptical plan with

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria del Popolo, Rome

The church grew out of a chapel built here by Pascal II in 1099 over the tombs of the Domitia family, which were believed to be the haunt of demons, because

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

The church was first mentioned in the documents in 995. In 1256 cardinal Pietro Capocci had it reconstructed and enlarged with the aim to include in it a well

Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome

St Camillo de'Lellis, a soldier, who for many years assisted the sick people in the Roman Hospital S.Giacomo degli Incurabili and founded a Congregation "