"Chiesa del Bambino (Bambin) Gesu" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 2nd May 2011
It is located in front of the Chiesa di S.Pudenziana with the adjoining 18th century Augustinian convent. The church is on a Greek-cross plan with the dome. It was erected by F.Fuga in 1731-1735 for Clement XII. Originated from a boarding school established by spinsters p. Cosimo Lucchese Berlintoni and Anna Moroni in 1662. The interior has a Greek cross and round and dome-basin and three altars.
In XVIIth century Rome the access to schools was reserved to boys; girls received their education at home and only the wealthiest families were in a position to have a private tutor; in 1671 Congregazione del SS. Bambin Gesù, a congregation aiming at providing some basic education for girls was founded; at the beginning its premises were near Tor Margana, but the success of the initiative led to the construction of a large nunnery/school which included a church. Initially Alessandro Specchi, the architect of Porto di Ripetta was asked to design the new buildings, but his projects were too expensive and the commission was assigned to Paolo Buratti; at his death in 1734, Ferdinando Fuga, the preferred architect of Pope Clement XII, was asked to complete the church.
It still houses a school although a section of it has been turned into a sort of hotel. Today it is a part of Istituto Bambino Gesù.
Chiesa del Bambino (Bambin) Gesu
Via Urbana, 160 (Via Cavour, 83)
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Chiesa del Bambino (Bambin) Gesu is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "99"
Istituto Bambino Gesù
Via Cavour, 83/A - Via Urbana, 1
Tel. 06 4881008 - 06 4882231