Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco

"Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 5th May 2011

Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco

The Ss. Stimmate di San Francesco ("Church of the Holy Stigmata of St. Francis")is a church in central Rome, Italy, in the Rione Pigna, sited where previously there was a church called Ss. Quaranta Martiri de Calcarario. The present church was on the medieval one of the Santissimi Quaranta Martiri delCalcarario, so-called due to the fact that the area used to house furnaceswhere buildings’ ruins would be cooked and turned into white lime. A first church in the place was consecrated in 1297. In 1597 the land was given by Pope Clement VIII to the Confraternita delle Ss.Stimmate; the construction a new building was completed in 1714, on designs by Giovanni Battista Contini.

It was built by the arch-confraternity of SS.Stimmate in 1594 on the area of medieval church Chiesa dei SS.Quaranta dei Calcarari. The present church is in form of a hall with three chapels on each side, and was enlarged in 1708-1721 by Clement XI, a member of arch-confraternity. It was begun by G.B.Contini and finished by A.Canevari. The high altarpiece is a masterpiece by F.Trevisani, who created also the paintings in the Cappella del Crocefisso (first on the right), a property of a family from Marche, the Torre-Magri, and beautifully reconstructed in 1725. In the sacristy there are the relics of St Francis.

On the facade over thee portico of three arches is a statue, by A.Raggi, of St Francis receiving the plagues of the crucifix, the fact to which the church is dedicated. Beneath the church is a 16th century cemetery decorated with the bones. The interior embodies a plan with a single nave and three chapels per side. In the bottom there is an altar piece dating back to 1719, renowned as the “Stimmatedi San Francesco” by Francesco Trevisani.

Address:
Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco
Largo delle Stimmate, 1
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "113"
Bus: 30-40-46-62-63-64-70-81-87-492
Hours: Open 07:00-12:00 16:30-19:00
Telephone: 0039 06 6783679

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large

Church of SS. Quaranta Martiri or S. Pasquale Baylon

The Church of SS. Quaranta Martiri now is bearing the name of S.Pasquale Baylon, protector of spinsters, but before it was dedicated to SS.Quaranta Martiri di

Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)

The Church of Saint Francis of Assisi ( Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa/ S.Francesco a Ripa) grew on the site of old hospice Ospizio di S.Biagio in

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Andrea delle Fratte, Rome

It was built in 1612 on the site of older church (12th century), which in the 15th century became a national church of Scots. In 1585 it was given to the monks

Contini, Giambattista (1641-1723)

Giambattista Contini, Italian architect, was born and died in Rome in 1641-1723. He was a pupil of G.L.Bernini, and his famous works are: Cathedrals of