"Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 7th May 2011
Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari) was built by cardinal G.B.Leni for the Barnabits in 1612-1620, in honor of St Charles Borromeo. The name "ai Catinari" derives from the basin makers (catini) who used to work in the area. The architect was Rosato Rosati, who also erected the dome, one of the most beautiful in Rome.
The ample facade is by G.B.Soria (1635-1638). The interior is on a Greek-cross plan; and is decorated with frescoes by M.Preti, Luca Carimini, Domenichino (dome), G.Lanfranco and A.Gherardi. The high altar is by M.Longhi the Y. (1650). The high altarpiece "S.Carlo carrying the Sacred Nail to the plague-stricken" is by P.da Cortona. Its Greek cross shape with short arms so that the dome is clearly visible from the street (the original design of S. Pietro). The paintings and frescoes by Pietro da Cortona and Guido Reni depict the saint’s life. On the altar the crucifix with inlays made of marble, glass and mother-of-pearl, a work from the 1500s.
Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)
Piazza Benedetto Cairoli, 117
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "117"
Bus 116, 116T
Hours: Open 07:30am-12:00pm 04:00pm-07:00pm., Masses: Weekdays: 08:00am-10:00am-06:30pm, Holidays:10:00am-11:30pm-06:00pm., During the celebration it is not allowed to visit the church.
Telephone: 0039 06 68307070
Fax: 0039 06 68216580