Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary), Rome

"Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary), Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011

Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary), Rome

It is incorporated into a monastery construction, has a nice dome and a simple facade with the asymmetrical bell-tower. The church was begun in the middle of the 17th century on the money left as a will by Gian Vittorio de Rossi, who had his house beside it. The project was by Camillo Asprucci, and the building continued until 1700. The steps of the church were created in 1838, due to the necessity to connect it with the new tract of Via Trionfale.

The monastery belongs to the Dominicans from the beginning of the 18th century. Here in 1863 Franz Liszt stayed. At present it is occupied by nuns Dominicans, moved here from the Convent at Piazza Magnanapoli. Their original seat was in Chiesa di S.Sisto Vecchio (1221), and from there they conserved a precious Byzantine icon "Madonna di S.Luca", probably the most ancient among the similar icons existing in Rome.

Monte Mario is the hill which stands to the north of Prati di Castello, the meadows outside Porta Castello where the Romans had their picnics in the XVIIIth century. The hill has been regarded as part of the historical landscape of Rome and (exception made for a luxury hotel in the 1950s) it has been developed only on the side which is not visible from the city.

In 1838 Pope Gregory XVI built new steps to facilitate the access to S. Maria del Rosario; Cappella del SS. Crocifisso was damaged in 1849 during the Defence of Rome and in 1883 it was eventually pulled down to enlarge the street leading to Villa Mellini, which was turned into an astronomical observatory.

You won't find S. Maria del Rosario church at its street address of via Trionfale 175. That entrance has been closed and the number removed. A little farther up is a piazza with stairways leading to a street above, via Alberto Cadlolo. Turn left on that street and look for a narrow walkway on the left, between the piazza and the convent. Follow the walkway around to the back of the convent.

Interior of the church is very pleasant and full of light; there are four little chapels in form of niches.

From the square in front of the church opens a wonderful view on Rome and Roman Campagna limited by Monte Soratte, Monti Tiburtini and Colli Albani.

Address:
Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary)
PARROCCHIA SANTA MARIA DEL ROSARIO AI MARTIRI PORTUENSI
(052)(1362/87)
Via Chiusdino 16
Via dei Martiri Portuensi, 00148, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Shown By Map A Zone As "9"
tel. 06-65.53.081
Email: Sant...@VicariatusUrbis.org
More: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/Ente.asp?ID=52

As you visit 'Chiesa di Santa Maria del Rosario (Church of St. Mary of the Rosary), Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Umiltà (Assunzione di Maria)

Church/ Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Umiltà (previously it was Chiesa dell' Assunzione di Maria) was built by wish of Francesca dei Baglioni, who after

Church of Santa Maria Liberatrice In Testaccio Hill

Santa Maria Liberatrice a Monte Testaccio (Church of Santa Maria Liberatrice In Testaccio Hill) stands just west of Porta San Paolo and the Pyramid of Gaius

Church/ Chiesa Parrocchia Santa Maria in Via - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

The church was first mentioned in the documents in 995. In 1256 cardinal Pietro Capocci had it reconstructed and enlarged with the aim to include in it a well

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so

Chiesa/Church Santa Maria (Parrocchia S.M.) in Traspontina, Rome

The church stands on the place where before 1527 was residence of Borgo's Governor. Begun in 1566 by Giovanni Peruzzi (the son of famous B.Peruzzi) the