Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

"Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 8th May 2011

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

Starting from the 16th century it was the Polish center. Gregory XIII gave to cardinal Osio an old church Chiesa di S.Salvatore in pensili de Sorraca, which originally was on this site; he transformed it into a new church and a hospice for his compatriots. In 1735 the radical reconstruction took place executed by Francesco Ferrari. The present look is quite simple.

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi (The church of the Polish Nation)/ San Stanislao alle Botteghe Oscure is today the Sunday meeting point of the large Polish community of Rome. The façade includes two orders separated by strip with the dedicatory inscription. The interior, embodying a unique nave, is rich of stuccos and decors and houses works by Polish artists of the 1700s on the side altars. The vault is decorated by a 1774 fresco by Ermenegildo Costantini portraying San Stanislao’s glory.

Address:
Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (San Stanislao alle Botteghe Oscure)
Via delle Botteghe Oscure, 15
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Pigna (Torre Argentina) (Roma centro)
Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "123"
Hours: Monday to Saturday 6.30am-7.30am 5.00pm-7.00pm, Sunday 7.00am-1.00pm 5.00pm-8.00pm, Masses: Holidays 9.00am(in Polish) 10.00am(in Polish) 11.00am(in Polish) 12.00am(in Polish) 6.00pm(in Polish). The day before a holiday 6.00pm(in Polish).
Telephone: 0039 06 6795347
Fax: 0039 06 6790169

As you visit 'Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)' you may also like following articles . . .

Former Italian Communist Party Headquarter and Temple on the Via delle Botteghe Oscure

The name of this street derives from existence here in the Middle Ages of obscure ravines where the rope makers and other artisans should have worked. Under

Church/ Chiesa di San Bernardo alle Terme, Rome

Caterina Nobili Sforza, nephew of Julius III, acquired the old Horti Belleyani in 1593 from the monks of S.Maria delgi Angeli. Here remained one of the two

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo (San Carlino) alle Quattro Fontane

The church is dedicated to the SS.Trinita' and to St Charles Borromeo (S.Carlo), but it is popularly called "S.Carlino" because of its reduced dimensions. They

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Alfonso all'Esquilino

This church and convent in Via Merulana were erected on the territory of previous Villa Caserta. The church was built for Fathers-redeemers in 1855-1859

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)

A little church of S.Aurea and annexed to it convent passed to a just established Confraternity of Neapolitans in 1574. They built the bigger church in 1619 by