Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)

"Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

Before the 19th century when this part of Trastevere was free from constructions of any type, the zone around the Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato) was occupied by sportive area where different kinds of competitions between young people took place.

Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato), Piazza di San Cosimato
S.Cosimato's construction belonged first to the monks of Benedictian order, and then, since 1234, of Franciscan order. The church was built in the 10th century and reconstructed in 1475. The interior of the church has one ample nave, a wooden ceiling, a painting by A.da Viterbo, and a tomb of Cybo-Malaspina. The Roman bell-tower is one of the most ancient in Rome and dates with the end of the 11th century. The hospice now is adapted to serve as a Hospital Regina Margherita. The development and needs of latter changed the aspect of this historical complex constructions, including in its structure two cloisters, one of which has 250 little columns and is the greatest in Rome.

There is an interesting fact about the saint to who the church and the hospice are dedicated. Such a saint as Santo Cosimato doesn't exist, it is nothing else but transformation of two names - Cosma and Damiano - in one - Cosimato. Peculiarities of this little church are the small façade with an elegant portal from the Renaissance (C.XV) and the facing garden that houses an antique granite tub used as a fountain.

There is another interesting thing about this church. On the High Altar there is a very venerated painting representing Madonna col Bambino, which originally was kept in the old St Peter's. In the 16th century it was stolen and then thrown into the Tiber after all the jewels were taken away from it. It was brought out of the water personally by pope Leo X who made a tabernacle built specially for this painting on the bridge Ponte Senatorio (now Ponte Rotto) under which it was founded. The inhabitants of Trastevere decided to change its position and attached it to the wall of the church San Salvatore. It remained there until a young man wouldn't see miraculous rays of light coming out of the painting. He detached it with the help of other people and gave it to the monks of San Cosimato.

In a chapel is the altar mausoleum of Cardinal Alderano Cybo Malaspina, made out of elements belonging to the monument of Sansovino, once in the church of Santa Maria del Popolo, where Cybo was once buried. Near the church is a small Romanesque cloister, with arches on coupled columns. In the surrounding area stand numerous architectural fragments from Roman, early Christian and Medieval period.

Notes: At the moment the church is closed.

Address:
Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)
Piazza di San Cosimato
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "34"
Hours: Masses: Weekdays 7.00am. Hildays 8.00am.

As you visit 'Church and Hospice of San Cosimato (Chiesa e Ospizio di S.Cosimato)' you may also like following articles . . .

Ospizio (Hospice) del Clementino

In 1715 pope Clement XI transferred in one part of an old hospice founded by Sixtus V a little hospice for poor girls, who in preparation for the Holy Year of

Piceni Hospice (Ospizio dei Piceni) - San Salvatore in Lauro

The hospice of Piceni is a complex of buildings, cloisters and courtyards, and is annexed to the church of S.Salvatore in Lauro. This is one of the most

Hospice For Pilgrims From Bohemia (Ospizio dei pellegrini Boemi)

Via Giulia begins in the Florentine quarter of Rome. The first two buildings of the street were of great importance for the Florentine community. The

Church and Hospice of San Giovanni Battista dei Genovesi (St. John Baptist of Genovesi)

The colony of Genoa had their stores and residences in he port zone. Meliaduce Cicala, prior of Genoa's Confraternity, organized construction of big religious

Hospice of 100 Priests/ Old Priests/ San Michele (Ospizio dei Cento Preti/S.Michele)

Pope Sixtus V had D.Fontana build this hospice in 1587, but in the modern construction nearly nothing left from the original one. Sixtus V tried to resolve a