Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione

"Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 1st July 2011

The Arch-confraternity of S.Maria in Portico della Consolazione e delle Grazie managing the Ospedale della Consolazione, the hospital built in 1470 adjoining the church with the same name, was founded in 1506. It had as a property a piece of territory of the Roman Forum, from which it had a right to derive marbles and other building materials for its hospital and other needs.

Church of Santa Maria della Consolazione Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione
The origins of the church come from 1385, when a noble man condemned to death as a last wish wanted to put an image of St Mary in front of him and other condemned, so that they could pray and over-think everything for the last time in their life. The image remained here, Capitoline hill, till 1550, when was transferred to the Piazza Giudea. Successively they decided to build a temple dedicated to the cult of this image. The church was given its present look in 1583-1600, by M.Longhi.

Interior, which rises on a large modern stairway has a nave and two aisles divided by pilasters, and three apses. Each aisle has five chapels, of which most significant are the first one in the right aisle entirely decorated by T.Zuccari in 1556; the third one with a beautiful bar of the wrought iron; and a Chapel of the Corporation of the fishermen in the left aisle. On the High Altar is "Madonna della Consolazione" by A.Romano. In the apse are "Nascita di Maria" and "Assunzione", by Pomarancio.
architecture of Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione architecture of Church of Santa Maria della Consolazione. front view of Church of Santa Maria della Consolazione.
The hospital was located in adjoining the church long and ample building; it was specialized in traumatology and here worked some great medical doctors, benefactors and saints of different epochs. The hospital was closed in 1936. At present this construction is occupied by the Barracks of the Policemen.

Church of Santa Maria della Consolazione is located in Foro Romano (Roman Forum) at the bottom of the Rupe Tarpea. The interior includes three naves divided by pilasters, and has three apses and five chapels per side.

Address:
Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione (Chiesa e Ospedale di S.Maria della Consolazione)
Piazza della Consolazione, 94
Via della Consolazione
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano - Campidoglio - P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "41"
Hours: Open 06.30am-06.30pm. Mass times: Holiday: 11.00, Weekdays: 06.30. During the celebration of Holy Mass is not possible to visit the church.
Telephone: 0039 06 6784654
Fax: 0039 06 6784654

As you visit 'Church and Hospital of Santa Maria della Consolazione' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Church of Santa Maria della Scala

Popular veneration of the miraculous image of Madonna depicted over some stairs in Trastevere forced a cardinal "di Como" and a Carmelite order to purchase a

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Church Santa Maria della Quercia

Julius II gave permission to the colony from Viterbo which occupied this part of the zone to build a church dedicated to Madonna under the title of Sanctuary

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rome

The church grew on the site of a little chapel dedicated to St Paul. The monks Carmelites had the work begun in 1608 by C.Maderno and Filippo Breccioli, who