"Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 10th July 2011
At Porta Latina, within the enclosure of the Aurelian Walls, stands the octagonal Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo (Tempietto di S.Giovanni in Oleo), whose current structures date back to 1509. This is a little octagonal construction erected by Bramante on the site where according to a legend St John Evangelist had to by martyred by emperor Domitian, but stepped out unharmed from a tub of boiling oil. Church presenting a Renaissance style, it was built in the early C. XVI.
In 1658 cardinal Francesco Paolucci had Borromini to rearrange the interior and the roof of the temple. It was located in the Marmorata district, where the grandiose warehouses of antique Rome were located. The other restoration works took place in 1716 under Clement XI. The French prelate who ordered original construction left after himself an inscription in French "Au plaisir de Dieu" over one of two doors. The other door has a coat-of-arms of Alexander VII. On the door is the coat of arms of the French prelate Benoît Adam, with the motto "Au plaisir de Dieu". The frescos (1716) showing Saint John's attempted martyrdom were painted by Lazzaro Baldi.
Note: Can be visited upon request. Contact the Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina).
Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo
Via Di Porta Latina
00179, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "94"
Telephone: 0039 06 774000032 - 340 3544798
Fax: 0039 06 774000032