Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)

"Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 10th July 2011

The Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Giovanni a Porta Latina) was erected in the 5th century, and reconstructed in 722 and in 1191. Interior is on basilican plan with a nave and two aisles divided by 5 ancient columns on each side. The church preserved the traces of fine 12th century frescoes representing 46 different scenes from the Old and New Testament. It was officiated by the French Capucine's in the 19th century; now it belongs to the Rosminians, who built around it a big institute. The church has also a narthex of four Roman columns and a Romanesque bell-tower of the 13th century. At present the church is very frequently used for marriage ceremonies.

Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)
According to a curious record left by Montaigne in 1578 this church was a place of foundation of a Portuguese confraternity, where the couples consisted of men used to get married by the ceremony applied for normal marriages, and lived together.

A recent restoration has brought back to the church its evocative medieval aspect. On the façade a porch opens up, with five arcades having marble and granite columns with Ionian capitals. On top are three windows and a slender Romanesque six-story bell-tower with triple lancet windows. Under the porch and inside the bell-tower are tombstones and Roman fragments, early christian slabs and fragments of medieval frescoes. Inside the church are frescoes with fourty-six different scenes from the Old and the New Testament, dating back to the 12th century. After the portico, work was begun on the bell-tower. All of the windows of the bell-tower were reopened and the structure strengthened. The Basilica of St. John at the Latin Gate is in the pastoral care of the Institute of Charity (Rosminian Fathers) of the Missionary College of Antonio Rosmini.

Address:
Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)
Via Di Porta Latina 17
00179, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina) is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "93"
Hours: Every day 07:30am-12:30pm 03:00pm 07:00pm. Masses: Weekdays 06:45 am, Sundays and Holidays 08:00am 10:00am 11:30am.
Telephone: 0039 06 77400032 - 340 3544798
Fax: 0039 06 77400032
Email: Basi...@SanGiovanniAPortaLatina.Com
Website: http://www.sangiovanniaportalatina.com/Welcome_San_Giovanni_Eng.htm

As you visit 'Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)' you may also like following articles . . .

Latina Gate (Porta Latina) of the Aurelian Wall

The original gate of the Aurelian Wall was enlarged by Honorius, who built on its sides two cylindrical towers and put over it a travertine construction and

Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo

At Porta Latina, within the enclosure of the Aurelian Walls, stands the octagonal Church and Temple of San Giovanni in Oleo (Tempietto di S.Giovanni in Oleo),

Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo

The Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo (Chiesa/ Basilica dei SS.Giovanni e Paolo) on the Celian Hill grew over some ancient Roman constructions

Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono

Before 499 on the place of the present Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono (Basilica/ Chiesa di S.Crisogono) but 6m lower was built a church which together with

Porta (Gate) San Giovanni

Pope Gregory XIII had this new city gate built in 1574 and named it after the close basilica of S.Giovanni in Laterano (St John Lateran). This gate was one of