Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University

"Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 13th May 2011

Until the middle of the 16th century the site of this church was occupied by 9th century Chiesetta di S.Maria ad nives or S.Maria a Magnanapoli. By initiative of pope St Pius V the new grandiose monastery complex with the church was erected. It was dedicated to St Dominic and St Sixtus. The church of the Santi Domenico e Sisto is also known as San Sisto Nuovo since it was built to substitute the church and the convent of San Sisto Vecchio, abandoned for malaria.

Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo), rome

The architects were Vignola, G.Della Porta, Nicola Torriani, and Vincenzo Della Greca. Interior of the church has only one nave with the three chapels on either side. It is richly decorated with marbles and stuccoes. In the Cappella della Madonna is a 15th century fresco by B.Gozzoli. The high altar and cyborium are attributed to G.L.Bernini. Cappella della Maddalena preserves a marble group designed by G.L.Bernini "Noli me tangere", by A.Raggi (1649). The first chapel on the right was also designed by G.L.Bernini. The vault and walls are decorated with the large baroque frescoes.

In the monastery is an ample cloister with porticoes attributed to Vignola. The high façade, with two orders of coupled pilaster strips, with the rich portal is decorated with niches with statues and crowned, on top of the tympanum, by eight flaming candelabri. The interior is extremely rich; there are in fact frescoes and decorations of polychrome marble, like those used by Bernini. It also embodies a rich high altar. On top of it there is the terracotta of the "Madonna con Bambino" dated C. XV.

In 1931 the church and monastery of SS.Domenico e Sisto passed to the International College of Dominicans, "Angelicum", which in 1963 became Pontifical University of Saint Thomas Aquinas, also known as the Angelicum University. It is the Dominican university of Rome, and one of the principal pontifical universities. As such, it is directly dependent on the Pope for its recognition as outlined in the Apostolic Constitution Sapientia Christiana, which clarifies the parameters of Church authority and academic freedom. The Angelicum is administered by the Order of Preachers, and is staffed by both religious and lay professors. It serves as the major locus of the authentic Dominican Thomist theological and philosophical tradition among pontifical universities.

Address:
Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University
Largo Angelicum, 1
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "141"
Hours: Open Saturday 03.00pm-06.00pm, Masses: Weekdays: 07:15am-12:15pm, Holidays: 08:00am. Visits upon booking.
Telephone/ Booking: 0039 06 6702201
Website of Pontifical University of Saint Thomas Aquinas (Angelicum University): http://www.pust.it/index.php?lang=en

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia

The Church of San Sisto Vecchio in Via Appia (Chiesa di S.Sisto Vecchio a via Appia) existed already in the 5th century and was restored by Innocent III in the

Universita' Gregoriana Pontificia (Pontifical Gregorian University)/ Pontificio Istituto Biblico (Biblical Institute)

It was built by Giulio Barluzzi in 1930 by the initiative of Pius XI. For its construction an old convent of the 16th century, used in the 19th century as the

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Fountain of Ponte Sisto/ Acqua Paola (Fontana dell'Acqua Paola)

The fountain of the Acqua Paola (Fontana dell'Acqua Paola) was constructed for Paul V, by G.Fontana and F.Ponzio in 1612, using marble from the Nerva Forum.

Ponte (Bridge) Sisto/ Aurelio/ Antonino - Bridge of Gianicolense (Janiculum)

This is an ancient Ponte Gianicolense (Bridge of Janiculum), also known as Ponte Aurelio or Ponte Antonino. It was rebuilt probably on the same piers by Sixtus