Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta

"Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 13th May 2011

This modest church was built in the beginning of the 1st millenium. The underground structure of the building dating from the Dark Ages was destroyed by the collapse of the pavement above it in the 50's of the 20th century. The present aspect of the church was given it by Paul V, who also ordered to raise its level. The facade is by F.Raguzzini (1733). The latter consists of two orders. In themiddle, a fourteenth-century-portal opens up. The interior, with a single nave, embodies avault that was frescoed by Pietro Gagliardi in 1856. The Museo delPresepio, moreover, is annexed to the church. The ancient convent was transformed into a hotel.

Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta, Rome

Address:
Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta
Via Tor de' Conti, 31/a
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "142"
Hours: Open 07:30-12:00 17:00-20:00
Telephone: 0039 06 69797832, 06 86909945
Fax: 0039 06 6789284

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa dei SS. Quirico e Giulitta' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large

Church of St. Philip Neri In Monti/ Chiesa di S.Filippino (San Filippo Neri all'Esquilino/ a Monti)

It is the only church in Rome dedicated to S.Filippo Neri and named with a diminutive "Filippino" because of reduced dimensions of the construction.

Church/ Chiesa della Madonna dei Monti (Santa Maria ai Monti)

It is considered to be the masterpiece of G.Della Porta, erected in 1580 in honor of miraculous image of St Mary, found on the site of ex monastery, used as a

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Fonte

It was built over the ancient private baths, where according to a tradition, a deacon Lorenzo was imprisoned and baptized his guardian. This gave the name of

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria d'Itria od Odigitria, Rome

Santa Maria d'Itria od Odigitria was also named "Chiesa di Costantinopoli" in honor of an Image of Madonna with Child brought from Constantinopolis in the