"Church/ Chiesa di San Bernardo alle Terme, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
Caterina Nobili Sforza, nephew of Julius III, acquired the old Horti Belleyani in 1593 from the monks of S.Maria delgi Angeli. Here remained one of the two round constructions of the Baths of Diocletian. It was transformed into a church with the name of S.Bernardo alle Terme by an architect Chiaravalle in 1598. The interior reminds Pantheon especially because of its ample dome with the diameter of 22m with the similar design and a hole from where the light enters the church. On the sides are eight niches containing eight colossal stucco statues of saints by C.Mariani (1600-1605). Among numerous funeral monuments is a tomb of F.Overbeck.
The church was dedicated to St. Bernard of Clairvaux, one of the first members of the Cistercian order. It was once one of the four round towers that rised beside the ruins of the Baths of Diocletian. The decoration of the church is based on stucco works (including eight gigantic statues by Camillo Mariani); part of it was added during a 1670 restoration: the ovals which decorate the drum are thought to belong to this period. The outside is decorated with an architectural composition (1598) with stucco pilaster strips and ledges, including the portal, niches and squarings. Above the ledge is an octagonal raising used as an attic, with big oval frames. The round interior is covered by a ceiling with octagonal panels, similar to the one from the Pantheon.
Church/ Chiesa di San Bernardo alle Terme
Via Torino, 94
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Castro Pretorio (Porta Pia) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Bernardo alle Terme is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "77"
Hours: Every day 6.30am-12.00am 4.00pm-7.00pm. Masses: weekdays 7.30am, Saturday 6.00pm, Sunday 11:00am.
Telephone: 0039 06 4882122
Fax: 0039 06 48071896