"Church/ Chiesa di San Giacomo alla Lungara (in Settimiano)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 25th May 2011
The origins of the San Giacomo alla Lungara church are tracing to the 9th century. Once the church was called San Giacomo in Settignano (Chiesa di S.Giacomo in Settimiano) being nearby the Porta Settimiana. In 1198 it became the department of St Peter's basilica. In 1628 it was given to the monks-penitents who with the help of Urban VIII and cardinal Barberini had the church reconstructed in 1664. From the original basilical plan it passed to the one nave plan.
Should be noticed the work of G.L.Bernini memoria funebre di Ippolito Merenda (the funeral monument), transferred here because its previous owner Convento delle Convertite (Monastery of Converted) was destroyed in course of river-side construction works and restored in 1901.
Chiesa di S.Giacomo is located on via della Lungara, the ancient via Settimiana (pictured below), named after the Porta Settimiana standing in the beginning of the street. But it was also called via Santa as it was the way for pilgrims in St Peter's direction. Because of its length it was later given a name "Longara" (from Latin longa via); after 1870 this word transformed in "Lungara". The Porta Settimiana was born as the Honorary Arch of Settimius Severus at the entrance to his over-Tiber property, but later it was included in the imperial walls of Aurelian. Alexander VI amplified it and Pius VI gave it the actual look in 1798.
Inside the church, with a single nave, a portrait of San Giacomo attributed to Giovanni Francesco Romanelli is placed on the high altar. In the presbytery is the macabre funeral monument of Ippolito Merenda by Bernini.
Church/ Chiesa di San Giacomo alla Lungara (in Settimiano)
Lungotevere della Farnesina, 12
00165, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Giacomo alla Lungara (in Settimiano) is Shown By "Map G Zone" As "7"
Masses Hours: Weekdays 07:00am, Holidays 08:00am 11:00am. Notes: The church is open only for liturgical celebrations and at the request.
Telephone: 0039 06 6869017 - 06 6875758