Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso

"Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 4th June 2011

Basilica di San Lorenzo in Damaso, Palazzo della Cancelleria, Rome

The primitive little church erected by pope St Damaso I in 380 was destroyed for the construction of Palazzo della Cancelleria. Cradinal Raffaele Riario had probably D.Bramante to reconstruct this church in present forms. G.Valadier restored it after it was used as a stall in the Napoleon's epoch. The other restoration was undertaken by V.Vespignani. The ceiling was remade by Pius XII after fire of 1939.

Church San Lorenzo in Damaso inside the Palazzo della Cancelleria
Interior is on a basilicas plan with three naves divided by arches on pilasters. Among the tombs should be noticed the one of Pellegrino Rossi (by P.Tenerani, 1854), the one of Annibale Caro (1597) and two funeral monuments to cardinal Trevisan (1505) and to Giuliano Galli (1488) richly decorated. Basilica preserves a famous wooden crucifix dating from the 14th century. In the apse, Coronation of the Virgin, with Saints, by F.Zuccari. In the Cappella del Sacramento is a 12th century icon of the Virgin brought here from another church S.Maria di Grottapinto in 1465. In order to enter the Basilica, inside the“Palazzo della Cancelleria”, one must cross the portal rebuilt by Vignola inthe second half of the C.XVI century.

Among the architects who have worked on the project of the church, there are Vignola, Bramante, Gian Lorenzo Bernini,Giuseppe Valadier and Virginio Vespignani. The interior has a late fifteenth- century three nave plan and is richly decorated with marbles and nineteenth gilding;. One may also find works of by Corrado Giaquinto, Sebastiano Conca, Stefano Maderno and Federico Zuccari’s slate altar piece can be found.

Address:
Church/ Chiesa (Basilica) di San Lorenzo in Damaso
Piazza della Cancelleria, 1
00186, Rome, Lazio, Vatican City State (VA), Italy
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa (Basilica) di San Lorenzo in Damaso is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "27"
Bus: 40Exp, 46, 62, 64, 116, 571, 916.
Hours: Every day 7.30am-12.00am 4.30pm-8.00pm. Parish office: Every day 9.00am-12.00am 4.30pm-8.00pm. Masses: Weekdays 8.00am 9.00am(not in July and in August) 7.00pm, Holiday 8.30am 10.00am 12.00am 7.00pm, The day before a holiday 7.00pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 69887521
Fax: 0039 06 68891661
Email: sanl...@vicariatusurbis.org
Website: http://www.vicariatusurbis.org/SanLorenzoinDamaso/

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso' you may also like following articles . . .

Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono

Before 499 on the place of the present Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono (Basilica/ Chiesa di S.Crisogono) but 6m lower was built a church which together with

Church of Santa Maria della Luce/ San Salvatore della Corte

The original title of the church was S.Salvatore in Corte. The primitive church was probably built in 270 for the initiative of S.Bonosa. From the old church

Basilica di San Lorenzo fuori le Mura (Saint Lawrence outside the Walls)

This basilica is one of the seven pilgrimage churches of Rome and of the numerous churches dedicated to the deacon Laurence of Spanish origin. In the middle of

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Fonte

It was built over the ancient private baths, where according to a tradition, a deacon Lorenzo was imprisoned and baptized his guardian. This gave the name of

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or Formoso

The Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or San Lorenzo in Formoso was erected before the 8th century on the site of the martyrdom of St Laurence, and