Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or Formoso

"Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or Formoso" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Monday 2nd May 2011

The Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or San Lorenzo in Formoso was erected before the 8th century on the site of the martyrdom of St Laurence, and was totally reconstructed in 1576 by F.da Volterra. It is preceded by a little medieval courtyard with a little staircase. In occasion of the holiday of the saint every year the nuns from the annexed monastery of S.Chiara distributed free bread and ham, from where the name of the street on which the church stands, derives, "Panisperna", i.e. pane (bread) and perna (pork).

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or San Lorenzo in Formoso, rome
Interior of the church has only one nave with three chapels on each side. There is no apse, but in the presbytery is a grandiose painting by Pasquale Cati (c 1550-?1621) representing "Martyrdom of St Laurence". The two order facade is preceded by a staircase with two ramps dating back to 1893, built because of the lowering of the road. The lower order has a wooden door (1664) sculpted with the images of the Sts. Lorenz and Francisc. On the upper order there is a small niche with a triangular gable on top. The single-nave church, with three chapels on each side, has a vaulted ceiling with frescoes by Antonio Bicchierai dating back to the 18th century.The grill, where according to tradition the saint was burnt, is housed in the crypt.

The present church is a result of a rebuilding by Carlo Rainaldi in 1575-1576, under Pope Gregory XIII. It was at this time it became known as 'in Panisperna' rather than 'in Formoso', and that the present facade was built. A new outer portico was added in the 17th century, then restored and decorated with images of Sts Lawrence and Francis of Assisi in 1893-1894 by Pope Leo XIII who in 1843 had been ordained bishop in this church. Leo also added a steep flight of steps in front of the church, leading to a tree-lined courtyard. There is a modern bronze statue of St Bridget of Sweden here. A medieval house is preserved next to the church with an exterior staircase, one of the few such houses to have been preserved in Rome.

It is possible to visit a small museum, annexed to the church, with the shrine of St Crispino and St Crispiniano and the blood of St Lorenz. Visit upon request: 06/46535574

Address:
Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or San Lorenzo in Formoso
Via Panisperna, 90
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or San Lorenzo in Formoso is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "98"
Hours: Every days before the masses. Masses: Weekdays 7.45am. The day before the Holiday 6.00pm. Holidays 11.00am 6.00pm.
Telephone: 0039 06483667 - 06 46535573 - 06 46535574

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Panisperna or Formoso' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Fonte

It was built over the ancient private baths, where according to a tradition, a deacon Lorenzo was imprisoned and baptized his guardian. This gave the name of

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso

The primitive little church erected by pope St Damaso I in 380 was destroyed for the construction of Palazzo della Cancelleria. Cradinal Raffaele Riario had

Church/Chiesa San Lorenzo in Lucina, Rome

It was built in the 4th-5th centuries on the site of the house of matron Lucina. In the beginning of the 12th century the church was reconstructed by order of

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large

Temple of Antoninus and Faustina (Tempio di Antonino e Faustina) - Church of San Lorenzo in Miranda

The Temple of Antoninus and Faustina (Tempio di Antonino e Faustina) in the Roman Forum (Foro Romano) was built in honor of the dying wife of emperor, Faustina