Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome

"Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome

In the end of the 15th century the French transferred here the center of their assistance activity. Previously it was located in the church named at present Chiesa del Sudario, not far away. The church of St Louis was founded in 1518 and finished only in 1589 by D.Fontana. Its facade with niches, statues and a central balcony is attributed to G.Della Porta.

Interior has a nave and two aisles, and it was heavily encrusted with marble and decorated with white and gilded stucco on a design by Antonio Derizet. In th 2nd chapel on the right was frescoed by Domenichino with the "Stories of St Cecilia", the altarpiece is a copy by G.Reni of Raphael's "St Cecilia" (at Bologna). In the 5th chapel on the left, Chapel of St Matthew, are three celebrated paintings by Caravaggio depicted in 1597-1602: "St Mathew and the Angel", "Calling of St Matthew" and "Martyrdom of St Matthew". There are also numerous funeral monuments dedicated to the cardinal Bernis, French ambassador in Rome, to Pauline de Beaumont (1805) erected by Chateaubriand for his lover, and to Claudio Lorenese (1836).
interior of Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi
Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi is the vaste façade from the late-Renaissance, probably attributed to Giacomo della Porta, is divided up by pilaster strips in five spans, with three portals and two niches with statues by Lestache (1758). The interior embodies three naves with five chapels per side and a rich central decorated with marbles; the whole church clearly embodies a baroque style.

Dedicated to Saint Louis of France, la Chiesa di San Luigi dei Francesi is the national church of France in Rome. It is famed for having three of Caravaggio's greatest works, The Calling of St Matthew, The Inspiration of Saint Matthew, and The Martyrdom of Saint Matthew. All the French churches of Rome, including this one, are administrated by a special council nominated by a French ambassador at the Holy See, and including a president (a member of the Embassy), an administrator (a priest), and a financial manager (a honorable member of French colony in Rome). The church is located near Piazza Navona in central Rome.

Address:
Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi
Piazza di San Luigi de Francesi,
Saint Louis des Français,
Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco, 5
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione S. Eustachio (Senato-Corso Rinascimento) (Roma centro)
Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "41"
Hours: Open 10:00am-12:30pm 04:00pm-07:00pm, Thursday 10:00am-12:30pm.
Tel: (+39) 06.68.82.71
Fax: 0039 06 68827228
Email: cont...@saintlouis-rome.net
Website: http://saintlouis-rome.net/

You can reach Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese By the following Bus Station:
(Know before you go: Rome Bus stops, Bus Lines, Signs, Color, etc.)
Bus: IBs - H - 40 - 46 - 62 - 63 - 64 - 70 - 87 - 186 - 204 - 630 - 780 - 810

Closest Underground Metro stations near Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese: (Get an idea of : Rome Underground METRO Lines System and Trains)
METRO A BARBERINI, Barberini (piazza), 10, 491 mt.
METRO A SPAGNA, Della Trinita' Dei Monti (piazza), 3, 593 mt.
METRO A REPUBBLICA, Della Repubblica (piazza), 55, 672 mt.
METRO A LEPANTO, Lepanto (via), 1, 697 mt.
METRO A FLAMINIO, Piazzale Flaminio (Piazzale), 699 mt.
METRO B COLOSSEO, Del Colosseo (piazza), 1, 744 mt.
METRO B CAVOUR, Visconti Venosta (largo), 228, 751 mt.
METRO A OTTAVIANO, Barletta (via), 1, 766 mt.
METRO B CIRCO MASSIMO, Del Circo Massimo (via), 1, 803 mt.
METRO B TERMINI, dei cinquecento (piazza), 84, 805 mt.

Closest Railway stations near Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese:
STAZIONE FLAMINIO, Di Villa Ruffo (via), 1 760 mt.
STAZIONE TERMINI, Dei Cinquecento (piazza), 1 911 mt.
STAZIONE SAN PIETRO, Della Stazione Di San Pietro (piazza), 1 952 mt.
STAZIONE TRASTEVERE, Flavio Biondo (piazza), 1 1.0 km
ROMALIDO PORTA SAN PAOLO, piazzale ostiense, 1 1.0 km
ROMAVITERBO EUCLIDE, Filippo Civinini (via), 1.0 km

Closest Tourist Information Points near Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese:
Navona, Piazza delle Cinque Lune, 84 mt.
Fontana di Trevi, Via Minghetti, 244 mt.
Castel Sant'Angelo, Piazza Pia, 434 mt.
Trastevere, Piazza Sonnino, 543 mt.
Visitor Center Fori Imperiali, Via dei Fori Imperiali 620 mt.
Palazzo delle Esposizioni, Via Nazionale 194 653 mt.

Getting To Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi (Via Santa Giovanna d'Arco at Piazza San Luigi dei Francese) From Chiesa di S.Maria in Campo Marzio (Santa Maria In Piazza Campo Marzio):
Departure from roma piazza campo marzio , 1
walk 350 meters
to roma via di s. giovanna d' arco , 1
distance covered (metres) 350 meters.

As you visit 'Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo di San Luigi dei Francesi, Rome

It was erected in 1709-1716 by Carlo Francesco Bizzaccheri with the goal to serve the religious confraternity of the French and to the pilgrims in need of

Church /Chiesa di S.Maria in Campo Marzio (Santa Maria In Campo Marzio) , Rome

The church was probably built in the 7th century, but was completely reconstructed in present form on a Greek-cross plan in 1685 by G.A.De Rossi. It has a

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Chiara, Rome

It was erected in 1563 by F.da Volterra, together with the adjoining hospice for conversion, by wish of St Charles Borromeo and was originally dedicated to St

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria in Monterone, Rome

The name of the church derives from the Palazzo Sinibaldi, located in front of it, which originally belonged to the Sienese Monteroni family. The latter had a

Church/ Chiesa dei Crociferi (Santa Maria in Trivio) - Madonna del Pozzo, Rome

Originally it was an Oratory of S.Maria in Trivio (Trivio = three streets crossing in the square in front of it) built by Belisarius in the 6th century, so