"Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011
Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino was erected in 1599 by Augustinian monks and reconstructed in 1620-1654 for the prince Camillo Pamphili by Carlo Buti, M.Longhi the Y. and Giovanni Maria Baratta. The facade is by A.Algardi and Filippo Buzio (1670). The dimensions of interior are not big, it is on a Latin-cross surmounted by a dome. The church is richly decorated with polychrome marbles, paintings and stuccoes.
The altars of the transept were designed by A.Algardi, and the right one has a painting by Baciccia. The high altar has a niche with a marble group of statues representing the vision of St Nicolas of Tolentino with the Virgin, St Augustin and St Monica (by E.Ferrata). On each side of the nave are three chapels. The 1st chapel on the left preserves a reproduction of Sepolcro di Cristo from Jerusalem (1679). The 2nd chapel on the left belongs to the Gavotti family and was built by P.da Cortona; it is decorated with the sculptures by C.Fancelli, A.Raggi and E.Ferrata. The 3rd chapel on the right is Cappella Lante executed in purely baroque style.
Since 1883 the church belongs to the Armenian confraternity, founded by Leo XIII, who's monument is inside. The façade presents two orders of columns pilaster strips while the interior, embodying a Latin cross, has a vaulted ceiling and a frescoed dome.
Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino
Salita di San Nicola da Tolentino, 17
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "75"
Hours: The Church is open only during the Sunday liturgies. Masses: Holidays 11.00am.
Telephone: 0039 06 4245801
Fax: 0039 06 233221838