"Church/ Chiesa di San Paolo Primo Eremita, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 30th April 2011
At present this church is deconsecrated and is adapted for the civic services. But originally it was built in 1767-1772 by C.Orlandi in mixed berninian-borromian forms. Interior is on a Greek-cross plan. Should be noticed a little semicircular portico with the sculptured palm, crow and two lions on its top. These are the images from a legend about St Paul Hermit, to whom the church is dedicated. Previously this place was occupied by another church dedicated to the same personality and a monastery of hermits, most of them Hungarian and Polish.
The church was dedicated to an Egyptian saint who is regarded as the first Christian hermit (primo eremita). He lived in the desert in a cave inside which he found a spring. A palm tree provided him with food and leaves with which he covered himself; every day a raven brought him some bread. At his death two lions dug his grave by using their paws. The façade has many references to the life of St. Paul, which attract the curiosity of unhurried passers-by. The church was deconsecrated in 1873.
Church/ Chiesa di San Paolo Primo Eremita
Via Agostino Depretis,
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Castro Pretorio (Porta Pia) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di San Paolo Primo Eremita is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "87"