"Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 8th May 2011
The name of the Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari reminds about the production of ropes (funi) in this area. S.Caterina dei Funari was first mentioned in 1192 and was entrusted by Paul III to St.Ignatius di Loyola in 1536, who founded here the Conservatory for tottering girls. In 1564 the church was reconstructed by cardinal Federico Cesi with the help of architect G.Guidetti. Its bell-tower is one of the most curious in Rome. Interior is simple. It has a nice marble façade enriched by a big fruit festoon, one of the best examples of a façade with superimposed orders. Very singular is also the bell-tower with its belfry crowned by the small octagonal dome placed on a preexisting medieval tower. The chapels and the nave were executed and decorated by Vignola, G.Muziano, S.Pulzone, F.Zuccari, L.Agresti and M.Venusti.
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari
Via dei Funari
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Sant'Angelo (Portico Ottavia-Teatro Marcello) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "123"
Hours: Sunday 10:00am-01:00pm
Telephone: 0039 06 6785883, 06-698.86.441