Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)

"Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 3rd May 2011

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi/ Santa Croce e San Bonaventura alla Pilotta was built in the 17th century by M.De Rossi for the community of the people from Lucca, on the previous Chiesa di S.Nicolo' de'Porci (SanNicola de Portiis (“de Porcis” or “in Porcibus”), which was assigned to them by Urban VIII, when the Capuchins moved to their new convent nearby the Piazza Barberini.

Exterior is quite simple, while the interior surprises with the gracious baroque decoration of golden friezes on the red background and marbles. Among the six chapels should be noticed the Cappella di S.Zita because of its harmonious forms and a full of light lantern. In the presbytery which was reconstructed in the 19th century by V.Vespignani has a painting of a famous Crucifix of Lucca surmounted by a low dome. On the ceiling of the nave are magnificent paintings by artists from Lucca G.Coli and F.Gherardi. The facade has a single part body with a wideportal. A framed triangular gable is present. The ceiling is decorated with seventeenth century C.XVII paintings.

Address:
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e di San Bonaventura dei Lucchesi/ Santa Croce e San Bonaventura alla Pilotta
Via dei Lucchesi, 3,
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trevi (Quirinale-Tritone-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi/ Santa Croce e San Bonaventura alla Pilotta is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "104"
Hours: Open 12:00-13:00, Closed Saturday and Sunday.
Telephone: 0039 06 6792017

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce Alle Scalette (del Buon Pastore)

In 1620 was founded the monastery for the women of bad behavior, who were intending to redeem themselves. There was a church attached to it given in the care

Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)

The Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in 1625 by initiative of cardinal Francesco Barberini and Blessed Bonaventura da Barcellona

Church/ Basilica of Santa Croce in Gerusalemme (Holy Cross in Jerusalem)

It is of the "Seven Churches" of the Jubilee pilgrimage and is one of the most sacred places of the capital of the Christianity. It was probably Constantine

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Susanna - American Catholic Church in Rome

It was founded by pope St Caius in the 3rd century on the site of a house of St Susan, where she was martyred. St Leo III reconstructed it in 795, reducing its

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome

It was built by Antonio Casoni in 1626 for the Capuchin cardinal Antonio Barberini, brother of Urban VIII. There were also built a convent and a square with a