Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome

"Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 29th April 2011

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome

It was built by Antonio Casoni in 1626 for the Capuchin cardinal Antonio Barberini, brother of Urban VIII. There were also built a convent and a square with a big cross and baroque clock tower, all demolished for construction of Via Veneto.

In the 1st chapel on the right is a painting by G.Reni "St Michael"; in the 3rd chapel on the right are works of Domenichino; the 5th chapel in the same aisle contains "St Anthony raising a dead man" by A.Sacchi. In the 1st chapel on the left is "St Paul having his sight restored" by P.da Cortona ; the 5th chapel preserves another work by A.Sacchi. In front of the high altar is a modest inscription on the pavement marking the grave of cardinal A.Barberini.
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Via Vittorio Veneto
Capuchins have always been "brothers of the people", particularly during the various epidemics that have struck Rome, and during the last war with its episodes of racial discrimination. The old friary was once the international headquarters of the Order, and is now the Provincial headquarters of the Roman Capuchins. It is ordinarily staffed by about 15 friars who are occupied in various tasks such as prayer, study and the apostolate. There is also a flourishing fraternity of the Secular Franciscan Order (SFO).

Chiesa di Santa Maria Immacolata Concezione - Convento e cripta dei Cappuccini is the first Roman Church dedicated “to God in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary”. It is led by the Minor Capuchins, the group of Franciscan friars living in the adjacent convent rebuilt from 1928 to 1933, after that an old one dating back to 1631 had been demolished to open Via Veneto and to build up the Ministry for Corporations, as it was then called.

THE VAULT OF THE CHURCH is barrel-like. At its centre there is the Assumption by Liborio Coccetti (+1728). ON THE TWO SIDES OF THE PRESBYTERY’S BOW the pictures with St. Francis and St. Clare painted by the Capuchin Paolo Piazza (Cosmo da Castelfranco Veneto, +1620). The only remarkable tomb as a monument is the one belonging to Prince Alessandro Sobieski (+1714), the son of John III, the winner over the Turks in Vienna, by Camillo Rusconi (+1728).

The Convento dei Frati Cappuccini church is famous for its five subterranean chapels decorated with the bones and skeletons of 4000 dead brothers-Capuchins from the 17th century onwards. To realize this idea, they had to bring the "material" from the old ceno by S.Nicolo' de Porcis on the Quirinal (modern Chiesa di S.Croce e S.Bonaventura) through 300 trips up and down in the carriages full of bones in the period between 1627-1631. The ground covering the pavement of the cemetery is said to be brought from the Holy Land. There is an interesting inscription by the exit: "You are what we have been. You will be what we are."

Address:
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini (Convento cappuccini)
Via Vittorio Veneto, 27,
00187, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ludovisi (Via Veneto) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "71"
Hours: Everyday 07.00am-12.00am 03.00pm-07.00pm
Cripta dei Cappuccini: Every days 09.00am-12.00am 03.00pm-06.00pm, Closed Thursday
Tel. 06/4871185, 06/ 4883138
Email: rico...@virgilio.it
Website: http://www.cappucciniviaveneto.it/

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria della Vittoria, Rome

The church grew on the site of a little chapel dedicated to St Paul. The monks Carmelites had the work begun in 1608 by C.Maderno and Filippo Breccioli, who

Church /Chiesa di Santa Maria Maddalena in Campo Marzio, Rome

St Camillo de'Lellis, a soldier, who for many years assisted the sick people in the Roman Hospital S.Giacomo degli Incurabili and founded a Congregation "

Chiesa (Church) di Santa Maria dei Miracoli, Rome

The church was erected in 1664-1679 by C.Rainaldi to preserve a miraculous image of Madonna, which was found on the wall close to Porta del Popolo and placed

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi (alla Pilotta)

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Croce e Bonaventura dei Lucchesi/ Santa Croce e San Bonaventura alla Pilotta was built in the 17th century by M.De Rossi for the

Chiesa di Santa Maria in Campitelli (Church of Santa Maria in Campitelli)

The primitive church with this name was located on the site of present Palazzo Lovatelli, but was abandoned in 1619 to build a new one on the house of Blessed