Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti

"Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 3rd May 2011

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti was built in the 5th century and was decorated with the mosaics in 460 by Eastern Roman consul Flavius Ricimerus. During the domination of the Goths, the church was a center of the Arian cult in Rome. In 593 it was re-consecrated by St Gregory I Magno. It was restored and reconstructed several times until 1633, when cardinal Francesco Barberini ordered its complete rearrangement, but with the respect to its original plan. The facade was rebuilt in the 18th century. Inside is a nave and two aisles divided by 16 granite columns forming six arches. In the apse is a well-preserved 13th century Cosmatesque tabernacle. A part of the ancient walls could still be visible from the outside on the right of the apse.

The façade, with a porch in the lower order, is by Francesco Ferrari (C.XVIII); it is preceded by an arcaded court, under whose arches one finds a little lapidary museum. The interior, with three naves on sixteen antique columns, evidently presents the C.V’s structure. The nicest part of the church is the courtyard, built during C. XVIII around a well covered with ivy.

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti
Via Mazzarino, 16
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "100"
Hours: Every day 7.00am-9.00am 4.00pm-7.00pm, Saturday 10.00am-12.00am 4.00pm-6.00pm, Sunday 10:00am-12:00am 4.00pm-6.00pm. Masses: Holidays 9.30am
weekdays 7.20am 6.30pm. During the Mass is not allowed to visit the Church.
Tel.: 0648793531
Fax: 0648793555

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Agata dei Goti' you may also like following articles . . .

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

Starting from the 16th century it was the Polish center. Gregory XIII gave to cardinal Osio an old church Chiesa di S.Salvatore in pensili de Sorraca, which

Church Sacred Heart of Jesus Castro Pretorio/ Chiesa del Sacro Cuore di Gesù a Castro Pretorio

The church was erected by Leo XIII by design of Francesco Vespignani in 1887. Its bell-tower is surmounted by a golden statue of Redeemer. The church possesses

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Susanna - American Catholic Church in Rome

It was founded by pope St Caius in the 3rd century on the site of a house of St Susan, where she was martyred. St Leo III reconstructed it in 795, reducing its

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo (San Carlino) alle Quattro Fontane

The church is dedicated to the SS.Trinita' and to St Charles Borromeo (S.Carlo), but it is popularly called "S.Carlino" because of its reduced dimensions. They

Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono

Before 499 on the place of the present Basilica/ Church of San Crisogono (Basilica/ Chiesa di S.Crisogono) but 6m lower was built a church which together with