Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici

"Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 1st June 2011

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici

S.Eligio, who was a goldsmith and a bishop of Noyon in France, is venerated in two different churches of the corporations of this profession.

Apart from this church there is a Chiesa di S.Eligio dei Ferrari (of smiths), in zone of "Bocca della Verita", which was the first seat of the University of smiths that in the 14th century united all people who's profession was connected with the elaboration of any metal. But in 1509 the workers of gold decided to separate and create their own corporation.

In 1516 the church of S.Eligio degli Orafi was erected here, the place considered to be one of the most prestigious and central in that epoch. The project of the church belonged to Raphael, the project of the dome to B.Peruzzi. This little construction is a pearl of a Renaissance temple on a Greek-cross plan and hemispheric dome. Inside there frescoes of T.Zuccari and others.

The interior embodies a clear and very bright cross architecture, with dull grey pilaster strips on a white background. According to some people, the very elegant hemispherical dome on tambour is to be attributed to Baldassarre Peruzzi. Not to be missed the marvellous frescoes by Matteo da Lecce, Taddeo Zuccari, Giovanni De Vecchi and Romanelli.

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici
Via di Sant'Eligio, 8/A
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "3"
Hours: Open 09:30-13:00. Closed Saturday and Sunday.
Telephone: 0039 06 6868260
Bus: 23-280

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Eligio degli Orefici' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari

The Church of Sant'Eligio dei Ferrari (Chiesa di San Eligio dei Ferrari) was built in 1562 over the site of the medieval Chiesetta di S.Giacomo d'Altopasso, by

Church/Chiesa della Santissima (SS.) Trinità degli Spagnoli, Rome

It was erected by the Spanish order of Trinity in 1741-1746. It is a work of architect Emanuele Rodriguez dos Santos. It occupies the place of a private

Church/Chiesa di San Girolamo dei Croati (degli Schiavoni), Rome

Starting from the 15th century in Borghi district a colony of refugies from Illiric-Croatian lands was settled. They left their country running away from Turks

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Andrea degli Scozzesi, Rome

The church and adjoining hospice were instituted in epoch of reign of Mary Stuart, catholic queen of Scotland, and it served as a shelter and center of

Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Isidoro degli Irlandesi (Collegio S Isidoro), Rome

The construction of the Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Isidoro degli Irlandesi (Collegio S Isidoro/Saint Isidore 's College) [the national church of Ireland] was begun