"Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola, Rome" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 11th January 2012
It was erected by Jesuits on the site of previous Chiesetta dell'Annunziata, which was also built by Jesuits in 1562-1564, with the help of cardinal Ludovico Ludovisi. The new church served the needs of students' community of the adjoining Collegio Romano. St Ignatius de Loyola was canonized in 1622, and construction of the church was begun in 1626 by project of Jesuit O.Grassi and executed by Jesuit Antonio Sasso. The amazing fresco that stretches across the nave ceiling set the standard for such types of work in the Late Baroque style. There are marble discs on the floor so that visitors know exactly where to stand so as to get the full effect of the deceptive illusions.
It was open in 1650, but really completed only in 1685. Since then the decoration works started, most of which were executed by A.Pozzo. To him belong a false dome depicted in a canvas 17m in diameter, best seen from a small yellow disc set in the pavement about the middle of the nave; frescoes on the vault (750 sq.m. executed in three years with the series representing Missionary company on the four continents), presbytery and chapels in the transept and apse. By the each nave side are three intercommunicating chapels.
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Loyola at Campus Martius (Italian: Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola a Campo Marzio, Latin: S. Ignatii de Loyola in Campo Martio) interior, embodying a Latin cross, has three intercommunicating chapels per side. The polychromy of the marbles, stuccoes, the pittorical decoration and the altars’ richness make the ensemble incredibly sumptuous. The roof’s decorations of the grandiose vault of the nave are by Andrea Pozzo, brother belonging to the Ordine Gesuitico, and they represent the "Ingresso di Sant'Ignazio in Paradiso".
In the center on high is Jesus with His cross. A ray of light proceeds from the Heavenly Father to the Heart of Jesus. Saint Ignatius looks and points toward Jesus, from whose heart a ray of light shines upon Ignatius. Above four pillars of the church are painted symbols of the four parts of the world: Europe, Asia, Africa and America. Saint Francis Xavier is appropriately associated with Asia. Thus the Founder and his companions join in spreading the burning love of Jesus throughout the world. The faithful are assisted to rise toward the central figure of Jesus: vice and heresy are turned down toward the abyss. Construction of the church continued slowly until the structure was finally consecrated in 1722.
As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola, Rome' you may also like following articles . . .
Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola
Piazza di Sant'Ignazio, 171, Campo Marzio
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Colonna (Pantheon-Montecitorio-Barberini) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "49"
Hours: Daily - from 7.30am to 12.20 pm, from 3.00 pm to 7.20 pm
Telephone: 0039 06 6794406
Fax: 0039 06 6790922
To Reach Church/ Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola:
Find Nearby Bus Station, Train Station, Underground Metro Stations, Tourist Information Points of Piazza di Sant'Ignazio at Campo Marzio