"Church/ Chiesa di S.Caterina da Siena a Magnanapoli (St Catherine of Siena)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 13th May 2011
It was built in 1628-1640 and dedicated to the St Catherine of Siena, by the nuns Dominicans from the nearby convent, who transferred here from Piazza S.Chiara the relics of the room where the saint lived and died. The facade of the church is by G.B.Soria (1638-40). The double staircase was created in the early 20th century. Interior is rich with marbles, has one nave, three chapels on each side, and a Baroque dome. Over the high altar with much decorated marble tabernacle is a relief by M.Caffa' (1667) representing "St Catherine in Glory". On either side of presbytery are the bas-relieves by P.Bracci (1775).
The convent was demolished in 1924 to liberate the Torre delle Milizie and Markets of Traian. Since then the church was entrusted to the Military Order, which created beneath it a crypt-memorial to the soldiers who lost their lives in the war. The late sixteenth-century facade presents two levels: on the first is a portico with three vaults; on the second is a large window between two niches, framed by a triangular gable. The interior, rich in seventeenth-and eighteenth -century decorations, has a single nave with three chapels on each side and a baroque dome.
Church/ Chiesa di S.Caterina da Siena a Magnanapoli (St Catherine of Siena)
Salita del Grillo, 37
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di S.Caterina da Siena a Magnanapoli (St Catherine of Siena) is Shown By "Map E Zone" As "140"
Hours: Saturday and Sunday 9.00-12.00, Masses: Sunday 10.30am
Telephone: 0039 06 6795100 - 06 47354206 - 06 36802078 (rettore)
Fax: 0039 06 47353966