Church/ Chiesa di S.Vito (SS. Vito e Modesto)

"Church/ Chiesa di S.Vito (SS. Vito e Modesto)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 21st May 2011

It was initially called Chiesa dei SS.Vito e Modesto, and it probably was built in the 4th century. In 1447 it was reconstructed by pope Sixtus IV, but only few decoration element and a fine marble door remained from that reconstruction.
Chiesa di S.Vito, initially called Chiesa dei SS.Vito e Modesto

Particular important has a fresco by A.Romano (1483) representing Madonna with the Child and Saints. Inside of the church is a "wicked stone" which history, according to a legend, is connected with the death of numerous first Christians.

The church embodies a sloping roofed facadewith a marble portal from the temple of Sisto IV. The interior is based on a rectangular planwith three naves. On the shrine altar to the left one find a portrait of the Madonnacon Bambino by Antoniazzo Romano (1483). Within the nave to the right the"pietra scellerata" is treasured: considered miraculous, it wasscratched and swallowed by the faithful who were bit by mad dogs, since the twoincumbent saints of the church were considered patron saints of rabid people .

The latest restoration of the church took place in 1900 and in 1977.

Address:
Church/ Chiesa di S.Vito (SS. Vito e Modesto)
Via Carlo Alberto, 47
00185, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Esquilino (Termini-Via Nazionale) (Roma centro)
Church/ Chiesa di S.Vito (SS. Vito e Modesto) is Shown By "Map F Zone" As "28"
Hours: Weekday hours: from 7.30 to 8.30 (October-June) and 17.00 to 19.00 hours, Holiday: from 9.30 to 13.00 hours (October to June), 9.30 to 12.00 hours (July-September). Mass times: Weekdays: 8.00 (October-June) 18.30, Holidays: 10:30 to 12:00 (October to June).
Telephone: 0039 06 4465836
Fax: 0039 06 4463494

As you visit 'Church/ Chiesa di S.Vito (SS. Vito e Modesto)' you may also like following articles . . .

All Saints Church (Anglicana All Saints), Rome

The church was erected in 1882-1887 on the site of destroyed Cappella di S.Antonio Abata belonging to the Convent of Gesu' e Maria. The project is by G.E.

Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)

The Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius of Bolognese (Chiesa dei Santi Giovanni e Petronio dei Bolognesi) was erected on the site of the other

Church and Catacomb of Saints Marcellinus and Peter (SS.Marcellino e Pietro)

Church of Saints Marcellinus and Peter [Chiesa dei SS.Marcellino e Pietro (al Laterano)] The Chiesa dei SS.Marcellino e Pietro (Church of Saints Marcellinus

Church/ Chiesa dei Santi(SS.) Domenico e Sisto (San Sisto Nuovo)/ Angelicum University

Until the middle of the 16th century the site of this church was occupied by 9th century Chiesetta di S.Maria ad nives or S.Maria a Magnanapoli. By initiative

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Susanna - American Catholic Church in Rome

It was founded by pope St Caius in the 3rd century on the site of a house of St Susan, where she was martyred. St Leo III reconstructed it in 795, reducing its