Church/ Chiesa

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution)

Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso/ Oratorio Musicale Romano (musical institution) Oratorio del SS.mo Crocifisso [Chiesa (Oratorio) of Santissimo Crocifisso)] was built by G.Della Porta in 1568 on the ancient ruins adapted for the hay-loft and on a medieval religious construction, for the Confraternity of Crucifix. The confraternity was founded to venerate the Crucifix (crocefisso) from nearby Chiesa di S.Marcello. The Brotherhood of the Crocifisso was...

Church/ Chiesa di San Marcello al Corso

Church/ Chiesa di San Marcello al Corso It stands on the site of the martyrdom of St Marcellus I, where in the 4th century was built the first church. The later construction that grew over the original one was destroyed by fire in 1519, when only the venerated Crucifix survived, which after this event became an object of cult and a Confraternity with its name was born. The church has been one of the first "tituli",...

Church/ Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli (Basilica dei Santi Apostoli)

Church/ Chiesa dei SS.Apostoli (Basilica dei Santi Apostoli) It was built in 560 by Pelagius I to commemorate the defeat and expulsion of the Goths by the Byzantine army, and dedicated to the Apostles James and Philip. After numerous restorations it was totally reconstructed under Martin V, Sixtus IV and Pius IX with the intervention of F.Fontana in 1702-1708 and C.Fontana in 1714. The facade is by G.Valadier with double loggia of nine...

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria in Via Lata

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria in Via Lata It was erected on the site of the Roman houses, where Apostle Paul should have stayed. Originally it was an oratory, which was turned into a present church in 1491 by Innocent VIII. The interior is by C.Fancelli, the facade and a bell-tower are by P.da Cortona (1658-1662). Interior has a nave and two aisles divided by columns. The high altar is attributed to G.L.Bernini; a...

Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco

Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco The Ss. Stimmate di San Francesco ("Church of the Holy Stigmata of St. Francis")is a church in central Rome, Italy, in the Rione Pigna, sited where previously there was a church called Ss. Quaranta Martiri de Calcarario. The present church was on the medieval one of the Santissimi Quaranta Martiri delCalcarario, so-called due to the fact that the area used to house...

Palazzo Strozzi/ Fondazione (Foundation) Marco Besso

Palazzo Strozzi/ Fondazione (Foundation) Marco Besso It stands in front of the Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco. It is a reconstruction of 16th century palace built for the Florentine family Strozzi by C.Maderno, and destroyed in course of laying out of Corso Vittorio Emmanuele. At present Palazzo Strozzi is occupied by "Foundation Marco Besso (Fondazione Marco Besso)", named after a banker, patron of...

Chiesa del Santissimo Sudario (SS.) Sudario/ National Church of Savoyards or Piedmont

National Church of Savoyards or Piedmont, rome, italy Chiesa del Santissimo Sudario (SS.) Sudario/ National Church of the Savoyards is a "national" church of people from Piedmont dedicated to the relic of Savoy House: Shroud of Christ. The church was built in 1604 by C.d. Castellamonte and restored by C.Rainaldi in 1678. It has a simple facade, and late 19th century works by C.Maccari inside. Originally the church and its...

Chiesa di San Giuliano dei Fiamminghi (National Church of Belgium)

Chiesa di San Giuliano dei Fiamminghi (National Church of Belgium) It is the 8th century church built for the Flemish colony. Historically, the church has been the National Church in Rome of the Southern Netherlands and, in 1830, became the national church of the Kingdom of Belgium. Its birth coincides with the conversion into Christian religion of the Flemish. It is just near the Chiesa del Santissimo Sudario (SS.) Sudario/ National Church...

Church/ Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari)

Chiesa di San Carlo ai Catinari (SS. Biagio e Carlo ai Catinari) was built by cardinal G.B.Leni for the Barnabits in 1612-1620, in honor of St Charles Borromeo. The name "ai Catinari" derives from the basin makers (catini) who used to work in the area. The architect was Rosato Rosati, who also erected the dome, one of the most beautiful in Rome. The ample facade is by G.B....

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari The name of the Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari reminds about the production of ropes (funi) in this area. S.Caterina dei Funari was first mentioned in 1192 and was entrusted by Paul III to St.Ignatius di Loyola in 1536, who founded here the Conservatory for tottering girls. In 1564 the church was reconstructed by cardinal Federico Cesi with the help of architect G...

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure) Starting from the 16th century it was the Polish center. Gregory XIII gave to cardinal Osio an old church Chiesa di S.Salvatore in pensili de Sorraca, which originally was on this site; he transformed it into a new church and a hospice for his compatriots. In 1735 the radical reconstruction took place executed by Francesco Ferrari. The present look is quite simple. Chiesa di...

Chiesa di Santa Maria in Campitelli (Church of Santa Maria in Campitelli)

Chiesa di Santa Maria in Campitelli (Church of Santa Maria in Campitelli) The primitive church with this name was located on the site of present Palazzo Lovatelli, but was abandoned in 1619 to build a new one on the house of Blessed Ludovica Albertoni in 1662-1667 by C.Rainaldi. The order was by Alexander VII, who wished to create an appropriate temple in honour of a miraculous image of the Madonna, which was believed to have halted an outbreak of...

Monastero di S.Francesca Romana/ Monastero di Tor de'Specchi (Monastery of Tor de' Specchi)

This monastery is also known as Monastero di Tor de'Specchi, deriving this name from the name of the medieval fortified zone of the Specchi family. In one of its houses grew a monastery by initiative of a noble Roman woman Francesca Bussi de'Leoni, who together with the other matrons retired here and founded the religious order of Oblates bearing now her name. This is the...

Chiesa del Gesu (Church of the Gesù)

inside interior of Chiesa del Gesu (Church of the Gesù), Rome The full name of this principal Jesuit church in Rome is Chiesa del SS.Nome di Gesu'. The Gesù was conceived in 1551 by Saint Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Jesuits Society of Jesus. At its dedication in 1584, it was the largest and first completely new church built in Rome since the sack of 1527. It was built in 1568-1584 on the site of some demolished buildings and...

Basilica di San Marco (Saint Mark's Cathedral/ Basilica) evangelista al campidoglio

Basilica di San Marco (Saint Mark's Cathedral/ Basilica), rome, italy The original church was built by order of pope St Mark in 336 in honour of the saint with the same name. In the 9th century it was reconstructed with the creation of apse mosaics, that survived till our days. The church was totally recnostructed by Paul II, who built adjoining to it Palazzo Venezia; he made it the "national" church of Venetians. The architects were G.d.Maiano...