Church/ Chiesa

Church Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte

The Church/ Chiesa di Santa Maria dell'Orazione e Morte was founded and built in 1576 by the Compagna della buona morte, a confraternity born in 1535 to pick the bodies of died people that were not buried. In 1732-1737 F.Fuga, a member of Compagna, erected a new building of the church, which was heavily restored in 1867. Inside there are paintings of C.Ferri (altar piece), P...

Church of Santa Caterina of Siena at Via Giulia

This Church of Santa Catherine of Siena at Via Giulia (Chiesa di Santa Caterina da Siena a Via Giulia) grew on the site of the old "castrum senese", center of financial and commercial activity of the Sienese in Rome. Their arch-confraternity was founded in 1519 and the first oratory was erected right here and dedicated to the patron of Siena, St.Catherine. The complete...

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota)

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota) The primitive little church, documented since 1186, had the name of S.Maria in Catenariis, because was annexed to the hospital for the people redeemed from the Saracen prisons. With the centuries the name of the church was popularly transformed in the name of Caterina, and it was attributed to the cult of S.Caterina di Alessandria, who's symbol was a wheel (ruota or rota) on...

Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)

The Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius of Bolognese (Chiesa dei Santi Giovanni e Petronio dei Bolognesi) was erected on the site of the other ancient church Chiesa di S.Tommaso de Hispanis, existed here since 1186 and named in the 16th century "della catena" ("of the chain"), because it was a seat of a confraternity which used the chains to "discipline" themselves...

Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda

This little Church/ Chiesa di San Salvatore in Onda is documented since 1127, but had lost its original aspect because of continuous restorations (the last one took place in 1845 and in 1877, by Luca Carimini). It conserved the three original naves of basilican plan with the columns. In the 17th century the level of the pavement was risen because it was easily reached by the...

Church/ Chiesa di San Giovanni in Ayno

The Church/ Chiesa di San Giovanni in Ayno was built in the 15th century and now is inhabited. It is not known yet the origin of the such a strange name "Ayno", as well as the origins of the church itself. The facade was built in 1590 by a certain Bonanni as an inscription says. It existed already in the XIIth century and it was larger than today; in the XVIth century it was...

Church Santa Maria in Monserrato (National Church of Spain in Rome)

Construction of this Roman Catholic titulus church was began in 1518 by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the Confraternity of S.Maria di Monserrato (the famous Spanish sanctuary), founded by pope Alexander VI in 1495. The church was erected on the site of two previous hospitals and was a national church of Aragonians and Catalanians, till it became the church of all the Spanish...

Church San Girolamo della Carità

According to a legend the church was founded on the place of the S.Girolamo's house in 382. Till 1536 it was a church of the congregation Minori Osservanti, but they moved to Isola Tiberina and Clement VII gave it to the noble Florentinians and their Congregation of the Charity. The history of the church was greatly influenced by S.Filippo Neri, who lived in the annexed to the...

Church San Tommaso of Canterbury - English College Church In Rome

Church San Tommaso of Canterbury - English College Church In Rome The present look was given to the Chiesa di San Tommaso di Canterbury (Church San Tommaso of Canterbury) during reconstruction of 1866-1888 executed by L.Poletti and V.Vespignani. The church is noted for some important tombs located in it and a beautiful baroque bell-tower. Before it was a primitive church named Trinita' degli Scozzesi founded in the 8th century. The latter...

Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)

The Chiesa di Santa Brigida (Church Saint Bridget) was built by Boniface IX in the 14th century on the site of the houses of the Papazzurri family, where Brigitta Persson of Sweden stayed during her sojourn in Rome in the 14th century. The church was rebuilt by Clement XI in the beginning of the 18th century. Till the Lutheran Reformation it housed the Swedish Hospice. The...

Church Santa Maria della Quercia

Julius II gave permission to the colony from Viterbo which occupied this part of the zone to build a church dedicated to Madonna under the title of Sanctuary della Quercia, located close to Viterbo. The heraldic symbol of the pope was the oak-tree, in Italian - "quercia". Thus, a former little church Chiesetta di S.Nicolo' changed its name and was rebuilt in the beginning of...

Church of Santissima (SS.) Trinità Dei Pellegrini

S.Filippo Neri founded in 1548 the Arch-brotherhood of Pilgrims and of Convalescents with a specific goal to arrange the growing crowds of pilgrims arriving to Rome, especially during the Holy Years. Confraternity began its activity in 1550 and was very effective already in 1575, as it found board and lodging for 170,000 pilgrims. The Church of Santissima (SS.) Trinità Dei...

Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Little Mountains)

The Church of Santa Maria In Monticelli (Chiesa di S.Maria in Monticelli) was erected on the site of a little hill formed by the rests of the old houses; this fact determined the name of the church (monticelli = little mountains). The church is very old, it is on basilica plan and was restored for the first time in 1101 by Pascal II; it still conserves the fragments of apse...

Church/ Chiesa di San Lorenzo in Damaso

Basilica di San Lorenzo in Damaso, Palazzo della Cancelleria, Rome The primitive little church erected by pope St Damaso I in 380 was destroyed for the construction of Palazzo della Cancelleria. Cradinal Raffaele Riario had probably D.Bramante to reconstruct this church in present forms. G.Valadier restored it after it was used as a stall in the Napoleon's epoch. The other restoration was undertaken by V.Vespignani. The ceiling was remade by...

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner)

Oratorio del Gonfalone (Oratory of the Banner) This Oratory of the Banner (Oratorio del Gonfalone) belonged to a powerful Confraternity of S.Lucia del Gonfalone and was built in the 16th century. The facade presents two orders (the first one dates back to 16th century, while the second one, baroque, is by Domenico Castelli). The first one embodies a portal with a decorated tympanum. The upper order, on the other hand,...