Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)

"Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Wednesday 1st June 2011

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)

A little church of S.Aurea and annexed to it convent passed to a just established Confraternity of Neapolitans in 1574. They built the bigger church in 1619 by O.Mascherino and had it reconstructed by C.Fontana in 1700. Unfortunately its conditions caused another intervention in 1853 by architect A.Cipolla who transformed the facade as well. The church contains paintings by Pietro Gagliardi and a Martyrdom of San Gennaro by L.Giordano.

The facade is in two travertine orders articulated into pilaster strips. In the lower order one finds a portal mounted by a fresco by Pietro Gagliardi portraying the “Spirito Santo inGloria”. In the upper one, one finds a rose window whose sides show weapons from Pio IX and the Regno delle Due Sicilie. The interior embodies a vaulted single nave. Inthe third chapel to the left one finds the “Martirio di San Gennaro”, masterpiece by Luca Giordano. The church also houses the tombs of the last Borboni soverignof Naplesand the two Sicilies, Francesco II and Maria Sofia.

In the adjoining to the church hospice in 1630 was arranged a noble Collegio Ghislieri, founded by a Roman medical doctor Giuseppe Ghislieri, one of numerous philanthropies who wanted to give opportunity for simple people to receive education. In 1936-1939 in the walls of this building was housed the Liceo Virgilio.

Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)
Via Giulia, 34
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "2"
Hours: Sunday and holidays 9:00am-01:00pm. Mass times: Holidays: 11.00. Call before you visit.
Telephone: 0039 06 69886217

As you visit 'Church of the Holy Spirit (Chiesa dello Spirito Santo dei Napoletani)' you may also like following articles . . .

Palazzo Del Banco di Santo Spirito/ della Zecca (Bank of the Holy Spirit)

In 1504 this palace became a seat of State Mint by the order of Julius II, author of monetary reform. The facade's construction was began by cardinal Giulio de

Chiesa di Santo Stanislao dei Polacchi/ Church of the Polish (alle Botteghe Oscure)

Starting from the 16th century it was the Polish center. Gregory XIII gave to cardinal Osio an old church Chiesa di S.Salvatore in pensili de Sorraca, which

Hospital Ospedale Santo Spirito in Saxia (Sassia), Rome

The Hospital was founded by Innocent III in 1200. He enlarged the old hospice (Schola Saxonum) of the Saxon king Ine. The word "Sassia" derives from "Saxonum

Chiesa del Santissimo(SS) Nome di Maria al Foro Traiano (Church Holy Name of Mary at Trajan's Forum)

The design of the church belongs to Antonio Derizet, who created it in 1737 by order of the Confraternity of the St Name of Mary. The Confraternity was

Borgo Santo Spirito, Borgo, Rome

Borgo derives from a word of Germanic origin "burg", which means "little inhabited center". This term was given to a block of buildings and streets around St