Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)

"Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 3rd June 2011

The Chiesa di Santa Brigida (Church Saint Bridget) was built by Boniface IX in the 14th century on the site of the houses of the Papazzurri family, where Brigitta Persson of Sweden stayed during her sojourn in Rome in the 14th century. The church was rebuilt by Clement XI in the beginning of the 18th century. Till the Lutheran Reformation it housed the Swedish Hospice.

Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida), Rome
The church and the home for the needy were restored many times, but the main works were finally made in the beginning early C.XVIIIof the eighteenth century. The facade presents a portal surrounded by two Corinthian columns. On top of the gable stand the statues of S. Brigida and her daughter S. Caterina. The interior has a single nave with two lateral altars. The barrel shaped vault was built in 1709 by Biagio Puccini, who also made the paintings, which decorate the lateral walls (1705). In the home next to the church one can visit therooms, where S.Brigida and her daughter S.Caterina from Sweden lived, can be visited.

Address:
Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)
Piazza Farnese, 96
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "14"
Hours: Open 06:30am-05:30pm, Closed Wednesday, Closed Saturday. Masses: Pre-holiday: 17.30, Holiday: 7:30 to 9:30 (in Swedish, only the first Sunday of the month) - 10.30-17.30. Schedules are subject to change. It is recommended to contact before you visit.
Telephone: 0039 06 68892596 - 68892497
Fax: 0039 06 68891573 - 06 68219126
Email: brig...@mclink.it
Website: http://www.brigidine.org

As you visit 'Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Lucia in Selci

It was founded in the 5th century, and many times restored. For centuries it belonged to Certosians, and later to the order of S.Croce in Gerusalemme, which

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota)

The primitive little church, documented since 1186, had the name of S.Maria in Catenariis, because was annexed to the hospital for the people redeemed from the

Church of Santa Caterina of Siena at Via Giulia

This Church of Santa Catherine of Siena at Via Giulia (Chiesa di Santa Caterina da Siena a Via Giulia) grew on the site of the old "castrum senese", center of

Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari

The name of the Church/ Chiesa di Santa Caterina dei Funari reminds about the production of ropes (funi) in this area. S.Caterina dei Funari was first

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large