Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)

"Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

The Church of Saint Francis of Assisi ( Chiesa di San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa/ S.Francesco a Ripa) grew on the site of old hospice Ospizio di S.Biagio in which, as a tradition says, St.Francis once was a guest, at least during one of his numerous sojourns in Rome. The original church was transformed immediately after the canonization of S.Francesco in 1231 for the initiative of Jacopa de'Settesoli.

Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa), Rome
In 1682-1689 it was completely reconstructed by M.De Rossi with the present three ample naves overcrowded with the funeral monuments and memorial tablets. The chapels on both sides are rich with the works of art and prove a particular devotion of some great Roman families to the Saint.

The church is full of sculptures. The interior is very simple and is divided into three naves with numerous pilasters. The aisles host three chapels each. It also houses a reliquary altar by Bernini as well as a canvas portrait St Francis made conformity with the tradition of his devout Jacopa de' Settesoli. In the oratory is the tomb of the great painter Giorgio de Chirico.
entrance of San Francesco a Ripa, Piazza San Francesco d'Assisi bell tower of San Francesco a Ripa
The chapel Cappella Albertoni contains a masterpiece of G.L.Bernini Beata Ludovica Albertoni (1674). The other chapel Cappella Pallavicini Rospigliosi is rich with the columns and statues.

Close to sacristy there is a group of exceptional 15th century tomb stones of the Anguillara family with the vivid portraits and documentation of customs of that epoch.

The chapel of St.Francis is located in the cell where the saint was staying, and contains a couple of images of S.Francesco (13th century) attributed to a Franciscan painter M.d'Arezzo, and a stone on which St.Francis should had put his head while sleeping.

In the garden of the annexed to the church monastery there is an orange tree indicated as the one which was planted by San Francesco.

In the center of the square in-front of the church there is an ancient column of the white marble with the iron cross on the top standing on the high basement. It was erected here in 1847 by Pius IX.

NOTE: The Altieri Chapel, the Chapel of the Immaculate Conception and the Sacristy are closed for maintenance until further notice.

Address:
Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)
Piazza San Francesco d'Assisi, 88 (Via di Porta Portese)
00153, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Trastevere (Gianicolo) (Roma centro)
Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa) is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "25"
Hours: Monday-Sunday: 7.00 am - 12.00 pm (noon), 4.00 pm - 7.30 pm. Mass Schedule: Weekdays: 7.30 am, 9.00 am, 6.30 pm; Holidays: 7.30 am, 9.00 am, 10.00 am, 11.00 am, 12.00 pm, 6.30 pm; Visits are not allowed during Masses. Schedules are subject to change. Please contact the church before visiting.
Telephone: 0039 06 5819020 - 06 5881331
Fax: 0039 06 5881331
Email: SanF...@VicariatusUrbis.org

As you visit 'Church of Saint Francis of Assisi (San Francesco d'Assisi a Ripa)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large

Statue of St Francis of Assisi (Monumento a San Francesco)

The Statue of St Francis of Assisi (Monumento a San Francesco/ Monument to St. Francis) bronze sculptural group is work of Giuseppe Tonnini. It was erected in

Church/ Chiesa delle Santissime(SS.) Stimmate di S.Francesco

The Ss. Stimmate di San Francesco ("Church of the Holy Stigmata of St. Francis")is a church in central Rome, Italy, in the Rione Pigna, sited where previously

Church/ Basilica of San Clemente (Saint Clement) in Laterano

The original Church/ Basilica of Saint Clement in Laterano (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Clemente al Laterano) built in 385 was discovered in the end of the 19th

Church Saint Bridget (Chiesa di Santa Brigida)

The Chiesa di Santa Brigida (Church Saint Bridget) was built by Boniface IX in the 14th century on the site of the houses of the Papazzurri family, where