Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)

"Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Friday 10th June 2011

Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)

The Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (Italian: San Nicola dei Lorenesi (also called Chiesa di S.Nicolo' in Agone, French: Saint-Nicolas-des-Lorrains) is a Roman Catholic church dedicated to Saint Nicholas and the apostle Saint Andrew. This little church, located nearly in front of the church S.Maria dell'Anima, is a "national" seat of Lorraine [national churches in Rome dedicated to France (Duchy of Lorraine)], and it is one of only few survived numerous Roman churches belonged to various regional French groups. The Confraternity of Lorenians, separating itself from S.Luigi dei Francesi, obtained this church from Gregory XV in 1622 and changed its title. Previously it was dedicated to S.Caterina in agone and was built in ancient times on the ruins of the Stadium of Domitian.

interior of Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)
The latter was then restored numerous times and finally rebuilt under the project of the French architect François du Jardin: the construction was initiated in 1625, completed in 1636, and dedicated to S. Nicola dei Lorenesi. The façade embodies two orders. In the middle of the entry portal opens up with two empty niches by the sides. On the upper level we find a central window. The interior is based on a rectangular plan with a vaulted ceiling and two side chapels. The internal coating made of polychrome marbles was carried out by Giovanni Andrea Volponi and Giuseppe Maria Bay (1748). Vault and dome by Corrado Giaquinto (1703-1765). Particular attention should be given to the stucco bas reliefs by Giovanni Battista Grossi dating back to the second half of the 1700s.

Address:
Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)
Largo Febo, 17
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ponte (Via Coronari-Ponte Vittorio) (Roma centro)
Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "51"
Tel. 06-68.13.45.63
E-mail: r...@stjean.com

As you visit 'Church of Saint Nicholas of the Lorrains (San Nicola dei Lorenesi/ in Agone)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church/ Chiesa di San Francesco di Paola (Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola)/ National Church for Calabrians

A rich person originally from Calabria region, devoted to the Calabrian saint St Francis of Paola, acquired in the beginning of the 17th century a large

Church /Chiesa di San Luigi (Saint Louis) dei Francesi, Rome

In the end of the 15th century the French transferred here the center of their assistance activity. Previously it was located in the church named at present

Church of San Nicola in Carcere (Prison) and Its 3 Temples (Templi)

The main characteristic of this Chiesa di San Nicola in Carcere (Basilica or Church of St. Nicholas in Prison/ Cardinal Titular Church) is the fact that it was

Church of Sant'Agnese in Agone, Piazza Navona

The owner of this Chiesa di S.Agnese in Agone (Church of Sant'Agnese in Agone) is the Pamphili family, because first it was conceived as a chapel of their

Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino, Rome

Church/ Chiesa di San Nicola da Tolentino was erected in 1599 by Augustinian monks and reconstructed in 1620-1654 for the prince Camillo Pamphili by Carlo Buti