Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)

"Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 2nd June 2011

The Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius of Bolognese (Chiesa dei Santi Giovanni e Petronio dei Bolognesi) was erected on the site of the other ancient church Chiesa di S.Tommaso de Hispanis, existed here since 1186 and named in the 16th century "della catena" ("of the chain"), because it was a seat of a confraternity which used the chains to "discipline" themselves. The Bolognese in 1575 purchased the church, a monastery and a hospital of S.Giovanni Calibita on the Isola Tiberina and founded here their confraternity "Confraternita di S.Petronio", protector of Bologna. With the favour of the pope Gregory XIII, also a Bolognese, the left the Island in Tiber in 1581 and moved here, uniting in the name of their "national" church the names of two saints, Giovanni e Petronio. It was reconstructed starting from 1582 by O.Mascherino. The dome was built in the middle of the 17th century, and the church was reconstructed again several decades later.

Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)
This SS. Giovanni e Petronio dei Bolognesi (Saints John the Evangelist and Petronius of the Bolognese) façade, with a single order, presents anentry portal surrounded by couples of Corinthian pilaster strips, and it is surmounted by a big rectangular window. Two other portals, surmounted by two windows and a round oculus, open up by the sides. The interior embodies a Greek-cross plan with side chapels and a dome roofing.

It preserves different works of Bolognese artists and tombs of some noble families from the same city. Among other a famous sculptor A.Algardi was buried here.

The relations between Rome and Bologna were very intensive, as it was the second important city of the Ecclesiastic State. The immigrants from there were also numerous, especially in the epoch of cardinals Farnese of the Parma branch and popes of Bolognese origins Boncompagni and Ludovisi, in the 16th-17th centuries. Specially numerous was artistic colony, from A.Algardi to the school of A.Carracci, from Domenichino to G.Reni. On the altar to the right one should not miss out the “Morte di San Giuseppe”, by Francesco Gessi.

Address:
Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)
Via del Mascherone, 61
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio) is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "7"
Hours: Open 04:30pm-07:00pm. Masses: Weekdays: 06:00pm (Saturday).
Tel: 06-45.44.58.98

As you visit 'Church Saints John The Evangelist and Petronius (Santi Giovanni e Petronio)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church and Hospice of San Giovanni Battista dei Genovesi (St. John Baptist of Genovesi)

The colony of Genoa had their stores and residences in he port zone. Meliaduce Cicala, prior of Genoa's Confraternity, organized construction of big religious

Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (San Giovanni a Porta Latina)

The Church/ Basilica of St. John at Latin Gate (Chiesa/ Basilica di San Giovanni a Porta Latina) was erected in the 5th century, and reconstructed in 722 and

All Saints Church (Anglicana All Saints), Rome

The church was erected in 1882-1887 on the site of destroyed Cappella di S.Antonio Abata belonging to the Convent of Gesu' e Maria. The project is by G.E.

Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo

The Church/ Basilica of Santi (SS.) Giovanni e Paolo (Chiesa/ Basilica dei SS.Giovanni e Paolo) on the Celian Hill grew over some ancient Roman constructions

Church of San Giovanni Calibita on the Tiber island

The Chiesa di S.Giovanni Calibita/ Church of San Giovanni Calibita was built in the 9th century, but its modern look was created in 1640. It contains