Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island

"Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Sunday 26th June 2011

The Basilica or Chiesa di S.Bartolomeo all'Isola/ Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Isola Tiberina (Tiber island) was erected in the end of the 10th century by a Germanic emperor Otto III and reconstructed in 1624 after the damage brought by a flood of 1557. In reconstruction works participated O.Torriani and probably M.Longhi the Younger. The dedication to S.Bartolomeo took place in 1180 when the relics of this saint were transferred here.

Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island
Interior is executed in baroque style and it is on a basilica plan with three naves divided by columns. Here should be noticed a chapel Cappella dell'Universita' dei Mugnai dedicated to the activity of the water-mills that existed in this part of the river till the flood of 1870.

Cappellina di S.Carlo is located in the right nave and it was entirely decorated by Antonio Carracci. In the Cappella del Sacramento a big shell is embed which fell here during the siege of the French in 1849. In that moment the church was full of people who only due to a miracle were not touched by it. So this shell is also nicknamed "of miracle". On the left of the church Oratorio dei Sacconi Rossi (Oratory of the Red Sacks) stood for a long time. Its purpose was to control that the drown people died in Tiber were buried according to a Christian rite. A cemetery annexed to this oratory conserves a curious decoration executed with the human-bones as it is done in the church Orazione e Morte in via Giulia, church of Cappuccini in via Veneto and church of Stimmate in Torre Argentina.

The Romanesque bell-tower with three mullioned windows dating back to the 12th century stands out and is visible from the banks of the Tiber. The interior of the church is divided into three naves by to two orders of fourteen antique columns. The originality of the church is to have a raised transept and apse. The paneled ceiling is rich of paintings and frescoes (1865).

Address:
Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island
Piazza di San Bartolomeo all'Isola, 22
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Ripa (Circo Massimo-Bocca Verità-Aventino) (Roma centro)
Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island is Shown By "Map J Zone" As "13"
Bus: H - 23 - 63 - 280 - 630 - 780
Tram: service 8
Metro Subway: service B, stop Circo Massimo
Hours: Monday to Saturday 10:30am-1:00pm 3:00pm-5:30pm. Sunday 9:00am-1:00pm 6:30pm-8:00pm. Monday to Saturday 10.30am-12.30pm. Masses: Sundays and Holidays 12:00am-7:00pm.
Telephone: 0039 06 6877973
Email: i...@sanbartolomeo.org
Website: http://www.sanbartolomeo.org/

As you visit 'Church of San Bartolomeo all'Isola on the Tiber Island' you may also like following articles . . .

Caetani Tower (Torre dei Caetani) of Tiber Island

The tower (torre) stands on the left of Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio and behind the Basilica di San Bartolomeo all'Isola. It belonged first to the Pierleoni family

Church of San Giovanni Calibita on the Tiber island

The Chiesa di S.Giovanni Calibita/ Church of San Giovanni Calibita was built in the 9th century, but its modern look was created in 1640. It contains

Isola Tiberina (Tiber island)

The size of this little island rises in the middle of the river Tiber is 300mx80m, along the creek that divides Trastevere from the area of the Piazza Navona.

Church/ Chiesa di S.Bartolomeo dei Bergamaschi (Ss. Bartolomeo e Alessandro dei Bergamaschi), Rome

Built in 1562 in connection with Hospital “Dei Pazzarelli”, it was originally called after Santa Maria della Pietà. In 1725 it was given the current name and

Ponte (Bridge) Fabricio - Connects The Tiber island

Ponte Fabricio was built in 62 b.C. by L.Fabricius curator viarum (as it is inscribed on both sides of the bridge). This is the oldest Roman bridge to have