"Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 10th November 2011
The Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) was built in 1625 by initiative of cardinal Francesco Barberini and Blessed Bonaventura da Barcellona. It stands on the highest summit of the Palatine Hill. Previously this site was occupied by Conserva d'Acqua Claudia, water reservoir, which served all the needs of the imperial palaces. Its water came from the specially built branch of the Nero's aqueduct.
A small convent was annexed and given to the order of the Spanish Barefoot Franciscans. Restored in 1839-40, it was known as “alla Polveriera” for the vicinity in the sixteenth century of a gun powder factory. On its simple facade there is a portal with two lateral niches, on top of which stands the statue of San Bonaventura dating back to the 18th century. The interior has a single nave and on the sides of the main altar are two small chapels with smaller altars on the walls. In the church are kept the bodies of the blessed Bonaventura and of San Leonardo from Porto Maurizio.
Note: The church is closed until further notice.
Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill)
Via di San Bonaventura, 7
00186 , Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Campitelli (Foro Romano - Campidoglio - P.Venezia) (Roma centro)
Church of San Bonaventura al Palatino (Palatine Hill) is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "34"
Telephone: 0039 06 6780331 - 06 6783187
Fax: 0039 06 69292782