Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona

"Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Saturday 11th June 2011

Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona

The old church S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli, built here before the Jubilee of 1450 on the site of Oratory of St Andrew, bears now the name of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore. Together with the annexed constructions served as the hospice, the Chiesa di S.Giacomo for a long time was a center of Spanish presence in Rome.

Chiesa di S.Giacomo degli Spagnoli, Piazza Navona
This Church of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore/ San Giacomo degli Spagnoli (Our Lady of the Sacred Heart) (formerly St James of the Spanish) was built on Piazza Navona east side. During the 16th century, with participation of A.da Sangallo the Younger, were conducted the works of embellishment of the interior. Here were celebrated various ceremonies and mourning of the Spanish court. Successively the church moved to S.Maria di Monserrato, and this construction was abandoned. The works of art and funeral monuments were brought to the new national church.

According to a wish of Leo XIII, who didn't want it to pass to the Protestant cult, it was sold to the French Congregation of Sacro Cuore at the auction in 1878; and its restoration was entrusted to Luca Carimini.
Church of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore, Piazza Navona.jpg entrance of Church of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore, Piazza Navona.jpg door of Church of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore, Piazza Navona.jpg
He changed the entrance from the via della Sapienza to the Piazza Navona with the new facade in 1881. But during the works of 1938 its old orientation was returned to the original one and the entrance was open on Corso del Rinascimento, by Arnaldo Foschini.

Interior has a square plan with three ample naves, by project of B.Rosselino. The 16th century Cappella di S.Giacomo is by A.da Sangallo the Younger. Behind the main altar, there is a serlian-shaped marble background (by Pietro and Domenico Rosselli). The Renaissance chancel, executed in polychrome marbles, is attributed to Pietro Torrigiani. The Chapel of St James by San Gallo the Young, is decorated with Pellegrino da Modena’s frescoes and with a statue of St James, plaster copy of the original work by Jacopo Sansovino, which is currently housed in the church of Santa Maria in Monserrato.

Address:
Church of Nostra Signora del Sacro Cuore/ San Giacomo degli Spagnoli (Our Lady of the Sacred Heart) (formerly St James of the Spanish)
Corso del Rinascimento, 27
East side of Piazza Navona
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione S. Eustachio (Senato-Corso Rinascimento) (Roma centro)
Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "58"
Bus: 70 - 81 - 87 - 116 - 116T - 186 - 204 - 492 - 628
Hours: Weekdays: 6.30am-9.50am, 5pm-7.00pm. Sunday: 7.30am-12.00pm, 5.00pm-7.00pm.
Masses: Holidays: 8.30am, 10.30am, 12pm, 6pm. Weekdays: 7am, 8am, 6pm. Confession in English.
Telephone: 0039 06 6875214
Fax: 0039 06 68804138
Email: mscr...@tiscalinet.it

As you visit 'Church of San Giacomo degli Spagnoli on Piazza Navona' you may also like following articles . . .

Church Sacred Heart of Jesus Castro Pretorio/ Chiesa del Sacro Cuore di Gesù a Castro Pretorio

The church was erected by Leo XIII by design of Francesco Vespignani in 1887. Its bell-tower is surmounted by a golden statue of Redeemer. The church possesses

Church Santa Maria in Monserrato (National Church of Spain in Rome)

Construction of this Roman Catholic titulus church was began in 1518 by A.da Sangallo the Younger for the Confraternity of S.Maria di Monserrato (the famous

Church/Chiesa della Santissima (SS.) Trinità degli Spagnoli, Rome

It was erected by the Spanish order of Trinity in 1741-1746. It is a work of architect Emanuele Rodriguez dos Santos. It occupies the place of a private

Chiesa (Church) di San Giacomo in Augusta, Rome

Originally it was a little church of a hospital, but in the end of the 16th century it was reconstructed and enlarged. The facade was begun by F.da Volterra

Chiese (Church) Parr Sacro Cuore Del Suffragio, Rome

Giuseppe Gualandi made a project of this church in 1913-14 and put it in the realization in 1917. The construction has evident traces of the inspiration by the