Church San Girolamo della Carità

"Church San Girolamo della Carità" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Thursday 2nd June 2011

According to a legend the church was founded on the place of the S.Girolamo's house in 382. Till 1536 it was a church of the congregation Minori Osservanti, but they moved to Isola Tiberina and Clement VII gave it to the noble Florentinians and their Congregation of the Charity. The history of the church was greatly influenced by S.Filippo Neri, who lived in the annexed to the church convent for more than 30 years and established here some religious institutions.

Church San Girolamo della Carità, Via di Monserrato, Rome
The building was reconstructed in the 17th century: exterior by C.Rainaldi (1609); interior by Domenico Castelli (1634). Should be noticed some fine marble decorations, wooden ceiling and the Cappella Antamoro dedicated to St Philip, by F.Juvarra (1708).

Here is also preserved an extraordinary work attributed to Borromini: Cappella Spada (1660), an imitation of Etruscan tomb in form of inhabited area, with the polychromatic marbles imitating fabric covering and two tombs as chests. Particularly admirable is a balustrade imitating a cloth supported by two angels.

The interior has a Latin cross, with a single central nave and a rich wooden paneled ceiling. The splendid Spada chapel was designed by Borromini and represents and exceptional Baroque work of art, shining with its polychrome marbles with the walls scoring a marble inlay. By the high altar, by Carlo Rainaldi, one finds the "Comunione di San Girolamo", a copy by Camuccini of the original, by Domenichino, one can find at the Vatican.

Address:
Church San Girolamo della Carità
Via di Monserrato, 62/A
00186, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Regola (Campo de' Fiori-Piazza Farnese) (Roma centro)
Church San Girolamo della Carità is Shown By "Map H Zone" As "12"
Hours: Sunday 10.30am. Masses: Sunday 11.30am.
Telephone: 0039 06 6879786

As you visit 'Church San Girolamo della Carità' you may also like following articles . . .

Rainaldi, Carlo (1611-1691) (son of Girolamo)

Carlo Rainaldi, Italian architect, was born and died in Rome in 1611-1691. He was a collaborator of his father Girolamo Rainaldi in Palazzo Pamphili in Piazza

Church of Santa Catherine of Alexandria (S. Caterina della Rota)

The primitive little church, documented since 1186, had the name of S.Maria in Catenariis, because was annexed to the hospital for the people redeemed from the

Church of Sant'Andrea della Valle

Before the church S.Andrea della Valle its place was occupied by a little Chiesetta di S.Sebastiano, which probably was built in memory of a fact that a body

Church/Chiesa di San Girolamo dei Croati (degli Schiavoni), Rome

Starting from the 15th century in Borghi district a colony of refugies from Illiric-Croatian lands was settled. They left their country running away from Turks

Church of St. Philip Neri In Monti/ Chiesa di S.Filippino (San Filippo Neri all'Esquilino/ a Monti)

It is the only church in Rome dedicated to S.Filippo Neri and named with a diminutive "Filippino" because of reduced dimensions of the construction.