Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)

"Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)" submitted by RomeTour Editorial Team and last updated on Tuesday 5th July 2011

The Church of San Gregorio Magno al Celio/Santi Andrea e Gregorio al Celio/ San Gregorio Magno al Celio or simply San Gregorio on the Caelian Hill was erected on the site of the house of pope St Gregory the Great. From original church remained the Cosmatesque pavement and 16 ancient columns. It was completely reconstructed from outside and inside in 1629-1633 by the wish of the cardinal Scipione Borghese by architect G.B.Soria.

Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio), Rome entrance of Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) at Piazza di San Gregorio
The portico contains some noble tombs. Interior is on a basilican plan with a fresco on the vault by Placido Costanzi (1727) and a Chapel of St Gregory. Nearby is a room where the bishop's chair of the Saint is preserved. On the left is a Cappella Salviati erected by F.da Volterra and finished in 1600 by C.Maderno. It has a beautiful frescoed dome by G.B.Ricci; the marble altar is by A.Bregno (1469); the very ancient fresco of Madonna is said to be the one which spoke with St Gregory.

In a square adjoining the church are rests of three chapels. On the right is a Chapel of St Silvia, mother of St Gregory, erected in 1603 with the wooden ceiling, a fresco by G.Reni, and her statue, by N.Cordier.The central Chapel of St Andrew was dedicated by St Gregory and contains decorations of F.Ponzio (1607), frescoes by Domenichino, G.Reni, G.Lanfranco and Pomarancio. On the left is a Chapel of St Barbara, all frescoed by A.Viviani in 1602. It contains a statue of St Gregory and a big marble table at which St Gregory served 12 paupers daily with his own hands. The interior appears with its Baroque aspect given by Ferrari. It has three naves divided by sixteen antique columns and is decorated by pilaster strips and stuccos. Also the mosaics are very interesting.

The façade rises at the top of the stairway, vigorously articulated into two orders of pilaster strips, which divide it up into three spans where the middle one is crowned by a tympanum, a porch, and big balconies. The atrium is surrounded by porches and holds some interesting burials, like, for example that of Sir Edward Carne, dignitary of the Court of Enrico VIII, sent in 1561 on the occasion of the divorce between the king and his first wife Caterina d'Aragona.

Address:
Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)
Piazza di San Gregorio, 1
00184, Rome, Lazio, Italy
Zone: Rione Celio (Terme di Caracalla) (Roma centro)
Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio) is Shown By "Map K Zone" As "76"
Hours: Every day 9.00am-1.00pm 3.30pm-7.00pm. Masses: weekdays 7.00am 7.00pm. Times are subject to change. Call before you visit.
Telephone: 0039 06 7008227
Fax: 0039 06 7009357

As you visit 'Church of San Gregorio Magno (Santi Andrea & Gregorio) on Caelian Hill (al Celio)' you may also like following articles . . .

Church of St. Gregory/ San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi (della Divina Pieta)

The name of the church comes from the places of its location: the houses of Anici, where St.Gregory Magno should have been born. The first news about the

Via di San Gregorio (San Gregorio Street)

This street was laid out over the tract of ancient Via Triumphalis, between Celian hill (Celio) and Palatine Hills. The Palatine hill (Palatino) overlooking

Church /Chiesa di San Gregorio Nazianzeno, Rome

The church is dedicated to the Greek saint, who's body was brought to Rome by runaway nuns from Constantinopolis. It grew on the site of the Roman construction

Arch of Constantine (Arco di Costantino) across Via di San Gregorio

This is the largest and best conserved of all triumphal arches in Rome. It was built in 315 by Senate and Roman people in honour of emperor Constantine and his

Antiquarium Comunale del Celio (Antiquarian House of Celio)

It was built in 1890 by architect F.Azzurri and arranged by professor Rodolfo Lanciani. The necessity to create an antiquarium was caused by endless quantity